Optimize PPC Text Ads

Post on 14-Jun-2015

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You are not giving your PPC ads enough love. This presentation from SMX Sydney gives you a framework for ad testing as well as the common mistakes.

Transcript of Optimize PPC Text Ads

Why We GenerallyStink at Testing

@JeffAllenUT

The Perfect Ad:Exists in a mythical land where seasons don’t exist competitors never change, and search engines stay the same.

Quick Wins & Easy Testing Ideas.

Common Testing Mistakes.

Ad Testing Framework.

I steal ideas.

5 quickAd Testing Wins

1. Choose the right ad format for the right average position.

Ads in top positions with d-line 1 in headline get 9% higher CTR’s than those without, but run-on ads not in top positions have 50% higher CTR’s.

Touring Michigan Wine – Wine-O-Wagon ToursAd www.fuitfulvinetours.com/Reserve your seats online now.

Wine Tours Dealswww.groupon.comSave 50% or More on Wine TastingNear You. Check Groupon First!

Examples

2. Segment by Device Type when concluding ad tests.

Get an instant 19% lift in salesWith mobile preferred ads.

Ad 1 IUC

Ad 2 IUC

1 Over 2

Total 65 78 +20%Desktop

59 74 +26%

Mobile 118 81 -31%

1. Must already have at least 2 ads per ad group.

2. Look at ads segmented by device.

3. If performance by device is different, select the ads that perform best on mobile and change to mobile preferred.

3. Segment by Network when concluding ad tests.

Ad 1 CTR

Ad 2 CTR

Ad 2 Wins!

Total 18.80% 18.04% -4%Google 18.31% 19.13% +5%Search Partners

29.17% 11.26% -62%

Search Partners have 2x CPA.Thus making this a win-win.

4. Test ads that go head-to-head with the competition with those that focus on differentiation.

Features/Benefits

Call-to-Action

Head-to-Head

• Free Shipping• Huge

Selection

• Shop Online• Order Online

Differentiation

• No Rx Needed• Free Lenses,

Save $200

• Talk With A Pro

• Find The Perfect Pair

5. Use Sitelinks that make sense with for the main destination URL.

Headlines 14,277 clicksSpecific Extensions 451 clicks

The result, or the warning sign that relevancy may be missing, is when CTR increases and CVR decreases.

When It Comes To TestingWe All Make 3 Mistakes

1. We use the wrong metrics to measure winners.

IUC = Impressions Until ConversionDPM = Dollars Per Thousand Impressions

IUC Ex.

5,000 impressions / 50 conversions = 100

DPM Ex.

($500 / 5,000 impressions) *1,000 = $100

Impr. Clicks Conv. CTR CVR IUCAd 1 18,314 670 40 3.7% 5.97% 17Ad 2 9,265 416 20 4.5% 4.95% 21Ad 3 15,267 625 39 4.1% 5.76% 16

Ad 3 was 2nd for both CTR & CVRbut had the best IUC.

2. We don’t wait long enough considering factors outside of our control.

Search Queries

Control SERP70%

30%FontText SizeImagesKnowledge GraphSitelinks“Ad” imagePLAsPersonalized Results

Search engines test upto 30% of traffic.

You Likely

Need 30% more traffic

Than you THINK

3. We lack intestinal fortitude.

Sales Cycle

Day 1 Day 90

Day 1 Day 90

New Ad Copy Launch Display

New Landing PagePause High CPA KWs Add Lifestyle Terms

Day 1 Day 90

New Landing PagePause High CPA KWs Add Lifestyle Terms

New Ad Copy Launch Display

Day 1 Day 90

Pause Low Close KWs

Day 91 Day 180

New Landing Pages

Appointments Sales

Add to Cart Sales

Specific Pages Lead Form Fills

Day 1 Day 30

Pause Low Appt KWs

Day 31 Day 60

New Landing Pages

Day 61 Day 90

New Ad Copy

Using Appointments as Intermediaries

This Testing Structure1. Increased Enrollments 39%.2. Increased Starts 150%.3. In 50% of the time.

Make Better Decisions With A Smart Testing Structure

Ad Testing Structure1. Start with landing page first.2. Gather group of 3 diverse people.3. Create list of most compelling

features and benefits to test.4. Create testing matrix with bracket

style competition between ads.5. Report business level insights up to

CMO, marketing department, etc.

Features/Benefits

Call-to-Action

Head-to-Head

• Free Shipping• Huge

Selection

• Shop Online• Order Online

Differentiation

• No Rx Needed• Free Lenses,

Save $200

• Talk With A Pro

• Find The Perfect Pair

Headline A: Rx Glasses

Headline B: Free Lenses with Glasses

Headline C: $19 Rx Glasses

D1a: 1000s of Frames to Choose From.

D1b: Free Shipping On All Frames.

D1c: Our Glasses Ship Without An Rx.

D2a: Quick Online Ordering!

D2b: Find Your Perfect Pair Online!

D2C: Fitting Reps Available 24/7.

Headline A + D1a + D2aHeadline B + D1a + D2aHeadline C + D1a + D2a

Headline A + D1b + D2aHeadline B + D1b + D2aHeadline C + D1b + D2a

Headline A + D1b + D2bHeadline B + D1b + D2bHeadline C + D1b + D2b

Roll-up Insights“Every time Free Shipping appears we see a 12% lift in IUC.”

“Every time we taught selection we see a 19% drop in CTR but a 10% lift in CVR.”

Ad Testing Structure1. Start with landing page first.2. Gather group of 3 diverse people.3. Create list of most compelling

features and benefits to test.4. Create testing matrix with bracket

style competition between ads.5. Report business level insights up to

CMO, marketing department, etc.

Jeff AllenHanapin Marketing@JeffAllenUT