Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to...
Transcript of Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to...
MINDY CONE
G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E . C O M I G : @ M I N D Y _ C R E A T I V E J U I C E
F B : / G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E
Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog
R E A D Y T O S T A R T M A K I N G M O N E Y O N Y O U R B L O G ?
T O D A Y W E W I L L D I S C U S S P R A C T I C A L A N D A C T I O N B A S E D A D V I C E T O K I C K S T A R T O R S T R E N G T H E N Y O U R
M O N E T I Z A T I O N S T R A T E G Y F O R Y O U R B L O G .
H O W T O W O R K W I T H I N D E P E N D E N T B R A N D S , A F F I L I A T E S , B L O G G E R C A M P A I G N A G E N C I E S , S E L L Y O U R O W N B A N N E R
A D S , U S E D I S P L A Y A D S F R O M A D N E T W O R K S , A N D N A V I G A T E T H E C O M P L E X W O R L D O F L A Y E R E D A D S .
D E V E L O P A S T R A T E G Y T H A T I S B E S T F O R Y O U A N D S T A R T
M A K I N G M O N E Y !
Develop a strategy that works for YOU!
DIVERSIFY
Affiliate Links
Display Ads
Blogger Campaign Agencies
Social Campaigns
Products & Services
Independent Brand
Campaigns
W H A T I S A N A F F I L I A T E L I N K A N D H O W D O E S I T G E N E R A T E I N C O M E ?
Affiliate Links
Beginner Advanced
AMAZON Pick Your Plum
Share a Sale CJ Affiliate
AFFILIATE LINKS
STRATEGY High Traffic Posts First { Use your GA for the last 6mo}
Target your product heavy posts All new posts
Social Sharing of Links
Note: Follow FTC disclosure regulations
T H E R E A R E L O T S O F M I S C E L L A N E O U S W A Y S T O G E N E R A T E I N C O M E I N R E L A T I O N T O Y O U R B L O G
Product & Services
Product & Services
- Online Product Sales {Etsy} - Live Product Sales {Events, Craft Fairs, ect} - Books & Ebooks - Online Classes {ex: Atly} - Hosting / Planning Live Events {Craft Nights} - Writing for Other Blogs & Brands*
STRATEGY Brainstorm ways that you can use your
talents to break into the product / services space and diversify your income
to support your blog
T H I R D P A R T Y B L O G A G E N C I E S B R I D G E T H E G A P B E T W E E N B L O G G E R S A N D B R A N D S M A K I N G I T
E A S Y T O B U I L D Y O U R P O R T F O L I O W H I L E G E N E R A T I N G I N C O M E .
Blogger Campaign Agencies
Pros Cons
� Work with brands you may not otherwise have the opportunity to
� Brands are ready to work with bloggers and understand the value of our influence
� Build your portfolio of brand partnerships so you can move into independent brand opps
� Payment is often non-negotiable
� Payment is more number/traffic based than branding based
� Not building a direct relationship with the brand
� Some require contracts, have a no-compete clause, or require you to run their display ads
Campaign Agencies
- T A P I N F L U E N C E - P O L L I N A T E M E D I A - S O C I A L F A B R I C {COLLECTIVE BIAS}
- I Z E A {SOCIAL SPARK}
- C O L L E C T I V E L Y - F E D E R A T E D M E D I A - L I N Q I A - P O P S U G A R - M O M I T F O R W A R D
- G L A M - B L O G H E R - C L E V E R G I R L S - S I T S G I R L S - W E A V E {POLLINATE}
- S V E R V E - B L U E P R I N T S O C I A L - M A R K E R L Y - M O M C E N T R A L - S O C I A L C H O R U S
Agencies & Platforms
STRATEGY Choose 2-3 agencies to Join
P R O D U C T O R P A Y M E N T M A D E I N E X C H A N G E F O R P R O M O T I O N V I A S O C I A L C H A N N E L S
I Z E A
I N F L U E N S T E R B L O G H E R
B Z Z A G E N T C L E V E R G I R L S
Social Campaigns
S O M E O F T H E M O S T C O M M O N L Y A S K E D Q U E S T I O N S :
H O W D O I S T A R T W O R K I N G W I T H B R A N D S ? H O W D O I S E T M Y P R I C E F O R S P O N S O R E D P O S T S ?
Independent Brands
How do I start working with brands?
T I P S A N D T R I C K S
G O T O C O N F E R E N C E S & G E T F A C E T I M E !
P A Y A T T E N T I O N T O B R A N D S T H A T L I K E W O R K I N G W I T H B L O G G E R S & S E E K T H E M O U T
B E A G O O D S T A L K E R
A S K F R I E N D S F O R C O N T A C T S * {*BUT DON’T TAKE IT PERSONAL IF THEY DON’T SHARE THEM…BUT IT DOESN’T HURT TO ASK}
H A V E A M E D I A K I T & C A S E S T U D Y R E A D Y {CASE STUDIES & FOLLOWING UP ARE THE BEST WAY TO GO FROM A ONE TIME GIG TO A LONG
TERM RELATIONSHIP – CHECK IN WITH THE BRAND EVERY 2 MONTHS OR SO}
R E S E A R C H L O C A L C O M P A N I E S
U S E & P R O M O T E T H E I R P R O D U C T S I F I T I S A U T H E N T I C
{IF YOU DON’T WANT TO DO A FULL POST ABOUT IT, SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND TAG THEM}
T A K E Y O U R T I M E T O F I N D T H E R I G H T P E R S O N {TITLES TO LOOK FOR: PR, SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER, MARKETING}
A D D R E S S T H E M B Y F I R S T N A M E W H E N P O S S I B L E {AND SPELL IT RIGHT!}
S H O R T E M A I L S ! {BREAK IT UP INTO 2-3 SENTENCE PARAGRAPHS}
P 1 – K I S S B U T T P 2 – E L E V A T O R P I T C H
{BURLESQUE SHOW. NOT A STRIP SHOW. REVEAL JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT.}
P 3 - R E L E V A N T L I N K S F O R E X A M P L E S O F Y O U R W O R K {ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE POSTS THAT ALREADY USE THEIR PRODUCTS}
E N D W I T H A Q U E S T I O N {WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO SEND OVER MY MEDIA KIT?, WHICH IDEA ARE YOU MORE INTERESTED IN?}
F O L L O W U P {BE PERSISTENT BUT NOT ANNOYING}
Email Tips & Tricks
I S I T A L L A B O U T T H E N U M B E R S ? N O T A L W A Y S .
N I C H E B L O G G E R S
O N P O I N T B R A N D I N G K N O W I N G Y O U R A U D I E N C E
A U T H E N T I C E N G A G E M E N T
B R A N D / P R O D U C T F I T W I T H Y O U R S I T E
When BRANDING Overides TRAFFIC
How to Price Sponsored Posts
A few different strategies
Use CPM rates (cost per ‘mille’- which means cost per thousand) combined with Pageviews or Total reach
Use agency payments as a baseline (but charge more)
Test the water – you never know until you ask. Leave room for negotiation if you say the first number, and always negotiate if
they say the first number.
Factor in hourly rate and cost of materials
Use previous sponsored posts as a baseline
C P M & P A G E V I E W S ( I N 1 M O )
1 0 0 , 0 0 0 P V $ 2 - $ 4 C P M R A T E
( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 2 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 2 0 0 ( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 4 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 4 0 0
P R I C E R A N G E F O R B L O G G E R W I T H 1 0 0 K = $ 2 0 0 - $ 4 0 0 *
* T H I S I S Y O U R P R O F I T M A R G I N *
C A L C U L A T E / E S T I M A T E H O U R L Y R A T E A N D C O S T O F M A T E R I A L S
{ A B L O G G E R W I T H 5 0 K - $ 1 0 0 - $ 2 0 0 }
Pricing Model 1
C P M & T O T A L R E A C H GOOD FOR PEOPLE WITH STRONGER SOCIAL MEDIA THAN PV
U M V ( U N I Q U E M O V I S I T O R S ) + S O C I A L M E D I A
F O L L O W E R S = T O T A L R E A C H EACH FOLLOWER ON EACH PLATFORM = 1
BLOGGER WITH 100K PV, 60K UMV, SOCIAL COMBINED TO 60K
TOTAL REACH = 120K
USE THIS NUMBER WITH CPM IN MODEL ONE INSTEAD OF PV
(120,000 X 2) / 1000 = $240 (120,000 X 4) / 1000 = $480 PRICE RANGE $240 - $480 *
*AGAIN THIS IS YOUR PROFIT MARGIN – CALCULATE HOURLY RATE & COST OF MATERIALS AS WELL
Pricing Model 2
T R A F F I C O N P A S T S P O N S O R E D P O S T S & C P M
P U L L D A T A F R O M G A O F Y O U R T O P 5 - 1 0 S P O N S O R E D P O S T S F R O M T H E L A S T 6 M O N T H S
Pricing Model 3
Pricing Model 3 cont.
(Traffic rounded to nearest thousand & numbers changed for ease of modeling/privacy)
After some research with this model I found that the CPM rate Of $25 is considered for a premium blogger, but also a common
Rate among those willing to discuss it.
6mo Traffic x CPM rate (/1000) = Value of Post
(63,000 x $25) / 1000 = $1575 (22,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 550 (17,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 425 (16,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 400 (11,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 275
AVG VALUE $645
+Cost of Materials + Hourly Rate *could also be done with your top 10 sponsored posts resulting in a lower average value
T R A F F I C B A S E D D I S P L A Y / B A N N E R A D S T H A T A R E G E N E R A T E D F O R Y O U R S I T E B Y A D N E T W O R K S T H A T
P A Y A C P M T O Y O U R S I T E
Ad Networks
Terminology
� ‘Above the fold’
� CPM Cost per ‘mille’
(means per thousand pageviews)
� CPC Cost per click
Networks Advanced
� Google Adsense* (premium – Google Ad Exchange)
� Sovrn (Formerly Lijit / Federated Media)
� Glam (contract) � BlogHer (contract) � Rivit � Burst Media � Media.net (yahoo and bing) � Infolinks (in text link ads) � SayMedia � PulsePoint
� Layering your Ads to backfill
� Goggle DFP � The Blogger Network
(80-100k min) � Adthrive (waiting list
100K min)
Ad Networks
IG : @MINDY_CREAT IVEJUICE
EMAIL : GETCREAT IVEJUICE@GMAIL .COM
FB / GETCREAT IVEJUICE
QUESTIONS