DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

Post on 16-Dec-2015

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Transcript of DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.

DAY CAMPToday’s Quick Win:

Optimizing an AdWords Account

Meet our guests!

@fortinDrew Fortin

Marketing Manager

@cunninghamkellyKelly CunninghamInbound Marketing

Consultant

@briggsnhMike BriggsVP Search at

Website Publicity Group

5 Week Paid Search Webinar Series

• 7/13 | Intro to Paid Search• 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Account• 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editor• 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimization• 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)

Housekeeping

A recording of today’s webinar, as well as the following resources will be posted to camp.hubspot.com:

1. Intro To Paid Search In 30 Minutes blog post on camp.hubspot.com/blog

2. Paid Search Resources and Education

Today’s Goal & Agenda

GOAL: Give you the tools and knowledge to optimize your AdWords account, in 30 minutes

AGENDA: For the next 30 minutes, we will walk you through the following items:

• How to track success in AdWords.• How to

• Spend less money, • Convert more leads, • Be more successful in AdWords

• Optimization basics, bidding basics, and analysis in AdWords

Last Week We Covered…

How to create and modify campaigns in AdWords Editor

How to work offline, share accounts, and post changes

How to save your time in your limited work day!

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Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Optimization is not

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Set itAnd

Forget it

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Optimizing Ad Delivery

Google prizes relevance above all else, “Quality Score” (QS)

QS is a measure of relevance• Keyword to ad text• Keyword to landing page• Landing page load time• Keyword historic Click Through Rate (CTR)• Advertiser’s specific keyword CTR

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Why does QS matter??

Quality score affects how your bid is used

Higher QS means lower CPC for better position

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𝐴𝑑𝑅𝑎𝑛𝑘=𝑄𝑆∗𝑀𝑎𝑥𝐶𝑃𝐶

Where do you find QS?

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What to do with low QS

QS 7+• Good

QS 4-6• Subtly improve ad text• Keep monitoring

QS 1-3• Refine keyword groupings• Better ad text, keywords in ads• Relevant landing pages

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Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:

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Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:

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Refine Search Traffic

Examine actual search queries:• Add any phrases that are relevant• Add negatives to campaign if off-target• Look for new ad group opportunities

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Search terms in action

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Added keywords

“Made in USA”, new ad group

Wrong Brand, add as negative

Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Identify Good & Poor Converters

Ensure Google Conversions are active• Create and tag• Or import from Analytics

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Set goals and analyze

Set a Cost per Action (CPA) you are willing to pay

Enable column in AdWords

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CPA =

Value of customer * lead to customer ratio

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Analyze successes

User filters to find ad groups and/or keywords < CPA

Increase these bids proportionally

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Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Be Analytical

Calculate your Max CPC based on history:

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Willing to pay $25 per actionConversion rate 10%

$25 * 0.10 = $2.50 Max CPC

Adjust Bidding

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14% conv rate * $25 CPA = $3.50

Max CPC

AdWords Editor Can Help

Show statistics

Filter

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Ready to Export to Excel

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Consider CPA bidding

Once you have 15 conversions in 30 days, eligible for CPA bidding

Great for Display (Content) Network

On Settings tab:

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Dimensions tab

Looks for ways to segment and save

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Day-parting Weekdays

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Day-parting hours

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Optimizing is a process

Optimize Ad Delivery

Refine Search Traffic

Identify Good & Poor Converters

Adjust Bidding

Implement Optimization

Program

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Implement an Optimization Program

Frequency Tasks

Daily • Check budgets, ensure high converters fully funded

• Look for keywords below first page bid

Weekly • Analyze and adjust bids• Assess Quality Score• Review Search Queries

Monthly • Run Ad Diagnostics• Review 0 converting low volume

keywords

Quarterly • Revisit Keyword Research• Review Opportunities Tab

Periodically • Check Day-parts• Geographic Success• Demographics• Explore Google reports and tools• Device conversions

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Marketing Take Away

Optimization is a cycle, not a single task

Start with ensuring good ad delivery, then improve performance

Get on a schedule and keep on top of account

If you lag behind, outsource help?

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Next Day Camp Sessions

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o 7/13 | Intro to Paid Searcho 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Accounto 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editoro 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimizationo 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)

Send your questions

Send your questions to:

contentcamp@hubspot.com

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