Competitor Campaigns: Good Cop, Bad Cop (How to Win in AdWords)
DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.
-
Upload
darlene-budde -
Category
Documents
-
view
216 -
download
1
Transcript of DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.
![Page 1: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/1.jpg)
DAY CAMPToday’s Quick Win:
Optimizing an AdWords Account
![Page 2: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/2.jpg)
Meet our guests!
@fortinDrew Fortin
Marketing Manager
@cunninghamkellyKelly CunninghamInbound Marketing
Consultant
@briggsnhMike BriggsVP Search at
Website Publicity Group
![Page 3: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/3.jpg)
5 Week Paid Search Webinar Series
• 7/13 | Intro to Paid Search• 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Account• 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editor• 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimization• 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)
![Page 4: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/4.jpg)
Housekeeping
A recording of today’s webinar, as well as the following resources will be posted to camp.hubspot.com:
1. Intro To Paid Search In 30 Minutes blog post on camp.hubspot.com/blog
2. Paid Search Resources and Education
![Page 5: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/5.jpg)
Today’s Goal & Agenda
GOAL: Give you the tools and knowledge to optimize your AdWords account, in 30 minutes
AGENDA: For the next 30 minutes, we will walk you through the following items:
• How to track success in AdWords.• How to
• Spend less money, • Convert more leads, • Be more successful in AdWords
• Optimization basics, bidding basics, and analysis in AdWords
![Page 6: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/6.jpg)
Last Week We Covered…
How to create and modify campaigns in AdWords Editor
How to work offline, share accounts, and post changes
How to save your time in your limited work day!
6
![Page 7: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/7.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
7
![Page 8: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/8.jpg)
Optimization is not
8
Set itAnd
Forget it
![Page 9: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/9.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
9
![Page 10: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/10.jpg)
Optimizing Ad Delivery
Google prizes relevance above all else, “Quality Score” (QS)
QS is a measure of relevance• Keyword to ad text• Keyword to landing page• Landing page load time• Keyword historic Click Through Rate (CTR)• Advertiser’s specific keyword CTR
10
![Page 11: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/11.jpg)
Why does QS matter??
Quality score affects how your bid is used
Higher QS means lower CPC for better position
11
𝐴𝑑𝑅𝑎𝑛𝑘=𝑄𝑆∗𝑀𝑎𝑥𝐶𝑃𝐶
![Page 12: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/12.jpg)
Where do you find QS?
12
![Page 13: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/13.jpg)
What to do with low QS
QS 7+• Good
QS 4-6• Subtly improve ad text• Keep monitoring
QS 1-3• Refine keyword groupings• Better ad text, keywords in ads• Relevant landing pages
13
![Page 14: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/14.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
14
![Page 15: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/15.jpg)
Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:
15
![Page 16: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/16.jpg)
Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:
16
![Page 17: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/17.jpg)
Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:• Add any phrases that are relevant• Add negatives to campaign if off-target• Look for new ad group opportunities
17
![Page 18: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/18.jpg)
Search terms in action
18
Added keywords
“Made in USA”, new ad group
Wrong Brand, add as negative
![Page 19: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/19.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
19
![Page 20: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/20.jpg)
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Ensure Google Conversions are active• Create and tag• Or import from Analytics
20
![Page 21: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/21.jpg)
Set goals and analyze
Set a Cost per Action (CPA) you are willing to pay
Enable column in AdWords
21
![Page 22: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/22.jpg)
CPA =
Value of customer * lead to customer ratio
22
![Page 23: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/23.jpg)
Analyze successes
User filters to find ad groups and/or keywords < CPA
Increase these bids proportionally
23
![Page 24: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/24.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
24
![Page 25: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/25.jpg)
Be Analytical
Calculate your Max CPC based on history:
25
Willing to pay $25 per actionConversion rate 10%
$25 * 0.10 = $2.50 Max CPC
![Page 26: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/26.jpg)
Adjust Bidding
26
14% conv rate * $25 CPA = $3.50
Max CPC
![Page 27: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/27.jpg)
AdWords Editor Can Help
Show statistics
Filter
27
![Page 28: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/28.jpg)
Ready to Export to Excel
28
![Page 29: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/29.jpg)
Consider CPA bidding
Once you have 15 conversions in 30 days, eligible for CPA bidding
Great for Display (Content) Network
On Settings tab:
29
![Page 30: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/30.jpg)
Dimensions tab
Looks for ways to segment and save
30
![Page 31: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/31.jpg)
Day-parting Weekdays
31
![Page 32: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/32.jpg)
Day-parting hours
32
![Page 33: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/33.jpg)
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
33
![Page 34: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/34.jpg)
Implement an Optimization Program
Frequency Tasks
Daily • Check budgets, ensure high converters fully funded
• Look for keywords below first page bid
Weekly • Analyze and adjust bids• Assess Quality Score• Review Search Queries
Monthly • Run Ad Diagnostics• Review 0 converting low volume
keywords
Quarterly • Revisit Keyword Research• Review Opportunities Tab
Periodically • Check Day-parts• Geographic Success• Demographics• Explore Google reports and tools• Device conversions
34
![Page 35: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/35.jpg)
Marketing Take Away
Optimization is a cycle, not a single task
Start with ensuring good ad delivery, then improve performance
Get on a schedule and keep on top of account
If you lag behind, outsource help?
35
![Page 36: DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.](https://reader036.fdocuments.us/reader036/viewer/2022062515/56649cb65503460f9497b5f3/html5/thumbnails/36.jpg)
Next Day Camp Sessions
36
o 7/13 | Intro to Paid Searcho 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Accounto 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editoro 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimizationo 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)