Don’t Let Angry Customers Kill Your Business
QuestionPro Customer Experience Webinar
Joel Aach Mark SalsberryPresident, QuestionPro CXLead Consultant, Aach Consulting
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Customer Experience Overview
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Holistic, 360-degree view of the customer journeyNPS or other rating measurement
Why: Increase loyalty, grow business
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Customer Experience Overview
Promoter Amplification Overview
● Customer market for you - WOM● Instantly referrals from delighted customers● Track reach and impact
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90% of online consumers trust
recommendations from people they know. [Nielsen]
Detractor Recovery Overview
● What is a Detractor?● What is Detractor Recovery?● Why bother?
○ Reduce customer churn○ Increase loyalty○ Lower negative WOM
● Who does it? ○ World-class companies, including many QP customers
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Understanding Detractors
● All detractors are not created equally● Leverage open ends● Prioritize actions based on:
○ Score (0-6)○ Influencers vs. not (well-known vs. unknown)○ CLV/LTV - Value Score
● Diagnose what’s really going on before starting recovery
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All Detractors Are Not Equal
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Word Clouds May Not Be Actionable
High Promoters (10) High Detractors (0)
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Activate Open Ends By Understanding Response Patterns
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Prioritization Actions - ‘Rude’ vs. ‘Horrible’
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Beware of Blended Scores - Use 90 Day Timing
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ROI of Detractor Recovery
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As many as 89% of consumers began
doing business with a competitor following
a poor customer experience. [Right Now]
● Cost of acquisition: 3-6x to acquire vs. retain ● Math: CLV/LTV x Saves
$243 x 74 = $17,982
Activating the Recovery
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Open Loop vs. Closed Loop
● Closed Loop: resolve where issue surfaced● Open Loop: resolve with customer care team● Who is ‘responsible’ - who has ownership
○ Recommendation: resolve where there is familiarity● Location manager
○ Training is paramount - not letting problem walk out the door● Call center
○ Engagement is paramount - conversing in a meaningful way● Execs should close the loop too
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Time Sensitivity
● Honor guest’s time; overall rating at beginning● Shocks and impresses customers● Real time best - automation (API) vs. manual data loads● 24 hours maximum
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Empathy and Meaningful Conversations
● Empathy: You, in their shoes● Tonality matters● Beware the script● Show you care!● Emotional part of recovery is often more important than the
functional part
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I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did,
but people will never forget how you made them feel
“
”Maya Angelou
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Ownership and Resolution
● Empowerment fuels ownership● Don’t deflect or blame, even internally● The solution is not money, it is memories● Recovery should be a budgeted line item● +1 Mentality● Sometimes it’s best to fire the customer
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Best Practices - Detractor Recovery - US Retail
Customer Service 53%
Compensation 37%
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QuestionPro CX: Detractor Recovery
● Hierarchy according to business● Automated notifications● Timed countdown● Dashboard ticketing interface with resolution
capture● Automated escalation to next level up● Joel Aach: Insights Activation & Brand Strategy
questionpro.com/cx
@questionpro
Joel [email protected]
+1-407-808-8171
Mark [email protected]
+1-720-425-1247
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