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Transcript of Track c 1115_slidesharejuhlinmcnally
David Juhlin Peter McNally Bentley University User Experience Center
Best Practices for Bank Web Site Navigation Best Practices and Methods
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
2
• Why We Did This Research
• Marketing Survey
• Tree Testing with a Twist
• Guidelines
• Creation of our own IA
• The Business Case
• Appendices (depending on time)
Presentation Overview
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
3
• Main issue for clients • “10% of task attempts failed due to problems in IA”
-Jakob Nielsen, April 16, 2009
• Navigation difficulties • Structure/grouping of IA (mental model)
• Labeling (comprehension)
• Graphic layout (visibility)
Why We Did This Research
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
4
• Survey
• Tree test on three different navigational menus • Blue Hills Bank
• Cambridge Trust
• Rockland Trust
• Used the insight to create our own navigation • User Experience Center Bank (UXC Bank)
• Of these banks, which one do you think performed best?
Our Research
Marketing Survey
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
6
• Question What information is important to find on a bank’s website?
• Sampling method • Email lists
• Social media
• Online classified ads
• Response rate • 1331 started the survey
• 1132 completed (85%)
• 892 cleaned up responses (79%)
The Survey
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
7 Most important things on a bank website…
0%
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30%
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50%
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70%
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Percent Respondents Designating Items as "Most Important on a Banking Website When Searching for a New Bank"
(Error bars represent 95% confidence interval)
Tree Testing with a Twist
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
9
Optimal Workshop (www.optimalworkshop.com)
• Early usability test of organization and labeling of IA
Primary Navigation
• http://bentley.optimalworkshop.com/treejack/bank22
• No visual distraction
• Task success
Tree Testing (basic method)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
10 The Three Banks Information Architecture
Top Level IA Options Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland Personal Personal Banking Personal
Small Business Business Banking Small Business
Commercial Wealth Management Commercial
Loans Customer Support Investing
Online & Mobile About Us Planning Tools and Resources
Rates Community Focus
Community About Us
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
11 The Three Banks Information Architecture
Navigation Within Personal Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland Checking Checking Overview
Savings Savings, CDs, IRAs Online Banking*
CDs &IRAs Online Banking Mobile Banking*
Money Market Mobile Banking mDeposit*
Account Services Mortgages Checking*
Financial Calculators Home Equity Debit Cards
Credit Cards Savings, CDs & IRAs*
Personal Loans Overdraft Options*
More Services Mortgages*
Home Equity
Personal & Auto Loans
Investing
Insurance
Other Products & Services*
*Items had a third level
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
12 Impact of Information Architecture Size
Number of Levels
Ite
ms
on
Eac
h L
eve
l
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
13 Task Selection
0%
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30%
40%
50%
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70%
80%
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Item
Percent Respondents Designating Items as "Most Important on a Banking Website"
(Error bars represent 95% confidence interval)
- Supported
- Not Supported
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
14 TreeJack
• Implemented tasks and IAs • Tested the phrasing/wording of the tasks
• Between subjects design (one IA per participant)
• Sampling method • Email lists
• Social media
• Online classified ads
• Participation rates • 700 (213, 232, 255) Started the test
• 595 (178, 209, 208) Completed 85% (84%, 90%, 82%)
• 440 (134, 167, 139) Cleaned up resp. 74% (75%, 80%, 67%)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
15 Success Rate
Success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland Fees 77% 87% 25%
Online Banking 99% 81% 94%
Interest Rates 58% 98% 68%
Card Options 65% 84% 77%
Mobile Apps 93% 75% 82%
Branch Hours 4% 84% 68%
Open an Account Online 63% 23% 18%
Overdraft Protection 20% 7% 51%
Bank Size 1% 90% 2%
Compare Bank Accounts 61% 80% 77%
Offers Financial Services 43% 57% 73%
Mortgage/Loan Availability 94% 90% 68%
Average Success 57% 71% 59%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
16 Survey Result
0%
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30%
40%
50%
60%
70%
80%
Pe
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Item
Percent Respondents Designating Items as "Most Important on a Banking Website"
(Error bars represent 95% confidence interval)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
17 Average Success Rate Top 5
Success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland Fees 77% 87% 25%
Online Banking 99% 81% 94%
Interest Rates 58% 98% 68%
Card Options 65% 84% 77%
Mobile Apps 93% 75% 82%
Average success 78% 85% 69%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
18 Weighting
• Weighting formula • 𝑾𝒆𝒊𝒈𝒉𝒕𝒆𝒅 𝒔𝒄𝒐𝒓𝒆 = 𝑰𝒎𝒑𝒐𝒓𝒕𝒂𝒏𝒄𝒆 × 𝑺𝒖𝒄𝒄𝒆𝒔𝒔
• More important tasks are valued higher than less important tasks
• Some tasks are more important than others • Based on customers goals (what we did)
• Alternative approach • Based on business value
• Combination of business value and customer goals
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
19 Weighted Success Rate
Weighted success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland Original average score 57% 71% 59% Top 5 average Score 78% 85% 69% Weighted Average Score 68% 78% 59%
Guidelines
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
21 Guidelines
1. Replicate some pages/sections (or crosslink) • Retirement account information is beneficial to include
under both ‘Personal’ and ‘Investing’
• Overdraft Options (‘Checking’-> ‘Overview’, ‘Compare Accounts’, ‘Rates & Fees’)
• Replicate ‘Open an a Account Online‘ at multiple places and make sure it’s in close proximity to ‘Enroll in Online Banking’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
22 Data from Treejack
Cambridge
Personal Banking 37% 53%
Business Banking 2% 10%
Wealth Management 57% 74%
Customer Support 4% 7%
About Us 1% 3%
Rockland
Personal 34% 38%
Small Business 1%
Commercial 1% 1%
Investing 31% 40%
Planning Tools and Resources 35% 45%
Community Focus About Us
Task 11: Where do you expect to learn whether a bank offers services to help you
manage your retirement accounts? Visited first Visited first
Visited first Visited during
Visited first Visited during
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
23 Guidelines
2. Don’t use vague terms • ‘Account Services’
• ‘Facts at a Glance’ (under ‘About Us’)
• ‘Other Products and Services’
• ‘Planning Tools & Resources’
3. Be careful of misleading terms • ‘Rates’ Vs. ‘Fees’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
24 Guidelines
4. Group items at the right level • Structure ‘Rates’ under ‘Personal’ and ‘Business’ instead of
as an option on the first level (and name it ‘Rates & Fees’)
• ‘Online & Mobile’ should be structured as an option on the first level
• ‘Credit/Debit Cards’ can preferably be structured under ‘personal’ and ‘business’
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
25 Guidelines
5. Chunking matters • It is better to have an IA with more levels than a shallow IA
with many options on each level. Users will find it as long as it is a clear logic path. (Don’t take it too far)
Creation of Our IA
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
27 Creation of our IA
• Copied and combined good parts from the other IAs
• Compromises based on importance level
• Implemented our insight and modified accordingly
Top Level IA Options Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC Personal Personal Banking Personal Personal
Small Business Business Banking Small Business Small Business
Commercial Wealth Management Commercial Online & Mobile
Loans Customer Support Investing Investing
Online & Mobile About Us Planning Tools and Resources About Us
Rates Community Focus Customer Service
Community About Us
51 items 53 items 220 items 150 items
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
28 The Information Architecture
Navigation Within Personal Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC
Checking Checking Overview Checking*
Savings Savings, CDs, IRAs Online Banking* Savings, CDs, IRAs*
CDs &IRAs Online Banking Mobile Banking* Credit Cards*
Money Market Mobile Banking mDeposit* Loans**
Account Services Mortgages Checking* Retirement*
Financial Calculators Home Equity Debit Cards Membership Rewards
Credit Cards Savings, CDs & IRAs*
Personal Loans Overdraft Options*
More Services Mortgages*
Home Equity
Personal & Auto Loans
Investing
Insurance
Other Products & Services*
*Items had a third level **Item had a forth level
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
29 TreeJack
• Replicated the same test with our IA • Same tasks
• Did not retest the other IAs
• Slightly changed sampling method • Avoid learning bias
• Mechanical Turk
• Craigslist
• Participation Rates • 210 Started the test
• 189 Completed (90%)
• 154 Cleaned up (81%)
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
30 The result
Success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC Fees 77% 87% 25% 90% Online Banking 99% 81% 94% 94% Interest Rates 58% 98% 68% 90% Card Options 65% 84% 77% 85% Mobile Apps 93% 75% 82% 97% Branch Hours 4% 84% 68% 86% Open an Account Online 63% 23% 18% 76% Overdraft Protection 20% 7% 51% 81% Bank Size 1% 90% 2% 88% Compare Bank Accounts 61% 80% 77% 84% Offers Financial Services 43% 57% 73% 94% Mortgage/Loan Availability 94% 90% 68% 91% Average Success 57% 71% 59% 88%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
31 Average Success Rate Top 5
Success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC Fees 77% 87% 25% 90%
Online Banking 99% 81% 94% 94%
Interest Rates 58% 98% 68% 90%
Card Options 65% 84% 77% 85%
Mobile Apps 93% 75% 82% 97%
Average success 78% 85% 69% 91%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
32 Weighted Success Rate
Weighted success rate
Tasks Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC Original average score 57% 71% 59% 88% Top 5 average Score 78% 85% 69% 91% Weighted Average Score 68% 78% 59% 89%
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
33 The Replication
UXC Bank Visited first Visited during
Personal 59% 61%
Small Business 1% 1%
Online & Mobile 1% 1%
Investing 36% 36%
About Us 1% 1%
Customer Service 2% 2%
Investing
Overview
Rates & Fees Personal Retirement Business Retirement Personal Wealth Management
Institutional Investment Management Fiduciary Services Trust Administration
Newsletters Investment Offices Our Team
Personal
Checking
Savings, CDs, IRAs Credit Cards
Loans
Retirement
Membership Rewards
Task 11: Where do you expect to learn whether a bank offers services to help you
manage your retirement accounts?
The Business Case
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
35
• Total revenue from the website • life time value/customer × amount of customers from site
$140 × 10,000= $1,400,000
• An improved website provides more customers • Original number of customers + increase of customers
10,000+1,000=11,000
• Total increased revenue over the websites life time • life time value/customer × Increased amount of customers
$140 × 1,000=$140,000
Calculations
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
36
• Increased amount of customers
Calculations
Bank Website Prospects
Lost prospects
New Customers $
Conversion rate =𝑁𝑒𝑤 𝐶𝑢𝑠𝑡𝑜𝑚𝑒𝑟𝑠
𝑃𝑟𝑜𝑠𝑝𝑒𝑐𝑡𝑠
• New customers from improvement • Prospects × conversion rate × improvement of conversion
500,000 × 0.02 × 0.05 = 500
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
37
• Total increased value becomes • Prospects×Conversion×Improvement×Customer Value
• Estimates (over the website’s design’s lifetime) • Number of prospects: 500,000
• Old conversion rate: 2%
• Improvement: 5% (new conversion rate: 2.1%)
• Average customer lifetime value: $140
• Total increased value • 500,000 × 0.02 × 0.05× $140 = $70,000
Calculations
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
38
• Return of investment
• ROI = 𝑮𝒂𝒊𝒏 𝒐𝒇 𝒊𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕−𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕 𝒐𝒇 𝑰𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕
𝑪𝒐𝒔𝒕 𝒐𝒇 𝑰𝒏𝒗𝒆𝒔𝒕𝒎𝒆𝒏𝒕
• Estimates • Gain of investment: $70,000
• Cost of investment: $30,000
• Return of investment
• ROI = $𝟕𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎−$𝟑𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎
$𝟑𝟎,𝟎𝟎𝟎 = 133%
Calculations
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
39
• Market share gains • Competitors loose
• Late discovery of problems • Late development changes - “You can use an eraser on the
drafting table or a sledgehammer on the construction site.” – Frank Lloyd Wright
• Project delay
• Might still need additional research to identify a better IA
• May have to choose • Expensive change vs. under preforming site
Other Considerations
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
40
• Intranet • Employee productivity
• Training time
• Cost of not finding the information
• Ecommerce site • Conversion rates
• Higher profit/purchase
• Returning customers
• Support site • Decreased support calls
• Increased customer satisfaction
Other Type Of Calculations
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
41
• Create a business case • Varies for industries and type of site
• Ballpark increase of task success: 5%
• Not the same as increased conversion rate
Your Project
Appendices
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
43 Demographics – Age Distribution
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18-25 26-34 35-54 55-64 65 or over
Pe
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Age
Age Distribution of Study Respondents
Survey
Blue Hills
Cambridge
Rockland
UXC
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[email protected] | 781-891-2893
44 Success Rate – Age Groups
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100%
Blue Hills Cambridge Rockland UXC
Succ
ess
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e
Success Rate by Age Group
18-25
26-34
35-54
55-64
65 or over
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
45 Demographics – Income Distribution
0%
5%
10%
15%
20%
25%
30%
35%
$0-$15,000 $16,000 – $30,000
$31,000 – $50,000
$51,000 – $74,000
$75,000 – $150,000
More than$150,000
Prefer not toanswer
Pe
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Income
Income Distribution of Study Respondents
Survey
Blue Hills
Cambridge
Rockland
UXC
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
46 Success Rate – Income Groups
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100%
Bluehills Cambridge Rockland UXC
Succ
ess
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Success Rate by Income
$0-$15,000
$16,000 – $30,000
$31,000 – $50,000
$51,000 – $74,000
$75,000 – $150,000
More than $150,000
Prefer Not to Answer
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
47 Mechanical Turk vs. Craig’s List
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100%
Craig's List Mechanical Turk
Succ
ess
Rat
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Participant Source
Success Rate by Participant Source
www.bentley.edu/uxc | [email protected] | 781-891-3142
[email protected] | 781-891-2893
48 Mechanical Turk vs. Craig’s List
• Number of cheating participants • Mechanical Turk: 18 of 116 (15%)
• Craig’s List: 16 of 67 (24%)
• Cost per completion • Mechanical Turk: $0.5
• Craig’s List: $1
• Issues with Craig’s list
Thank you!
Questions?
David Juhlin Usability Consultant Bentley University User Experience Center [email protected] 781-891-3142
Peter McNally Senior Usability Consultant Bentley University User Experience Center [email protected] 781-891-2893