Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

64
If it don’t make dollars, it don’t make sense

Transcript of Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Page 1: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

If it don’t make dollars,it don’t make sense

Page 2: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Agenda

• My Story

• Canada Advertising Trends

• The Advertising Layer Cake

• How To: Calculate Your Digital Advertising Budget

• Q&A

Page 3: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

My Story

Page 4: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

A-Town

Page 5: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 6: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 7: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 8: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 9: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 10: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 11: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

We help peoplesell stuff online

Page 12: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Canada Advertising Trends

Page 13: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Canada’sInternet Population

Desktop28m

Mobile19.9m

Total 30.5m

Mobile only 2.3m

Source: IAB Canada, 2015

Page 14: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Mobile User Demographics

41%36%

23%

18-34 35-54 55+

Age

M, 55%

F, 45%

Gender

EN, 78%

FR, 22%

Language

Source: comScore, 2015

Page 15: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Advertising Spend

• Digital advertising spend up +21% from 2014 to 2015

• Digital spend +43% more than TV spend

• Mobile spend +79% and now 1 in 3 ad dollars spent on mobile

Desktop

Mobile$3.2

$4.6

TV Digital

$ billions

Source: IAB Canada, 2015

Page 16: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Where Does Ad Spend Go?

Google and Facebook account for 82%+ of ad spend in Canada

Source: comScore, 2015

CA11% US/ROW

89%82%

Page 17: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

What is Digital Marketing?

A. Promoting your product online

B. Ads that show on your desktop, mobile, tablet or internet connected device

C. Paid, organic or earned online media

D. Quantitative, trackable activity where you can measure actual return on investment

E. All of the above

Page 18: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

The Advertising Layer Cake

Page 19: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 20: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 21: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

Consideration

Conversion

Loyalty

The Advertising Layer Cake

Page 22: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

AwarenessInterest / Behaviour / Demographics Brand or Generic Keywords

Lookalike or Affinity Audiences

Audience

Page 23: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Lookalike Audience

Lookalike Audiences are a way to reach new people who are likely to be interested in your business because they're similar to customers you care about. You can base your Lookalike Audience on a variety of sources (ex: people who like your Page, or visited your website).

Source: Facebook

Page 24: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 25: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Lookalike

Page 26: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

AwarenessInterest / Behaviour / Demographics Brand or Generic Keywords

Look-a-like affinity

Your Brand Story

Value Proposition

Email Subscriber

Visit WebsiteLead Submission

Audience

Message

Goals

Page 27: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

Page 28: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

Page 29: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

Page 30: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

• Facebook Ad

Page 31: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

ConsiderationInterests / Behaviours / Demographics

Research Keywords

Website Visitors & Subscribers

Shopping Feature & Benefits

Social Proof

View Product

Add to Cart

Audience

Message

Goals

Consideration

Page 32: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Consideration

• Facebook Ad

Page 33: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Consideration

Page 34: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016
Page 35: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Cookie

Cookies are small files that a web server automatically sends to your computer’s web browser (think Firefox, Safari, Internet Explorer) when you browse certain websites. Cookies are stored as text files on your hard drive, and servers access them when you return to web sites you’ve visited before.

Source: AdRoll

Page 36: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Consideration

Page 37: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Conversion

Buy Keywords

Intent to Buy (View Product, Add

to Cart)

Prices

Recommend Product

Risk Free Experience

Customer

Audience

Message

Goals

Conversion

Page 38: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Conversion

Page 39: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Conversion

Page 40: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Loyalty

CurrentCustomers

Cross sell & Upsell

Replace product

Repeat

Purchases

Audience

Message

GoalsLoyalty

Page 41: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Loyalty

Page 42: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Loyalty

Page 43: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Awareness

Consideration

Conversion

Loyalty

Audience Message Goals

Broadtargeting,Interest/Behaviours,

Lookalike

BrandStory,ValueProposition

NewsletterSignUp,Homepage,

ProductCatalog

EmailSubscribers,Homepage,

ProductCatalog

ShoppingFeature/Benefits,CustomerReviews

ViewProduct,AddtoCart

ViewedProduct,AddedtoCart

Dynamic ProductAds:Product, ShoppingCartAbandon

Customer

CurrentCustomers

Replacement,Cross sell,Upsell

RepeatPurchases

Page 44: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

How To:Calculate YourAdvertising Budget

Page 45: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 1:Customer Centric Model

Page 46: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 1

1. Revenue Target

2. Customers = Revenue Target / Customer Lifetime Value

Page 47: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

Customer Lifetime Value is a prediction of all the value a business will derive from their entire relationship with a customer. Because we don't know how long each relationship will be, we make a good estimate and state CLV as a periodic value — that is, we usually say “this customer's 12-month (or 24-month, etc) CLV is $x”

Source: Custora

Page 48: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

𝐂𝐋𝐕 = TotalRevenueCustomers =

$100,000200 = $𝟓𝟎𝟎

Page 49: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 1

1. Revenue Target

2. Customers = Revenue Target / Lifetime Value

3. Budget = Customers x Customer Acquisition Cost

Page 50: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

• The cost of customer acquisition (CAC) means the price you pay to acquire a new customer. In its simplest form, it can be worked out by:• Dividing the total costs associated with acquisition by total

new customers, within a specific time period

Page 51: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

𝐂𝐀𝐂 = TotalAdSpendCustomers =

$20,000200 = $𝟏𝟎𝟎

Page 52: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 1

1. Revenue Target = $100,000

2. Customers = $100,000 / $500 = 200

3. Budget = 200 x $100 = $20,000

Page 53: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2: Traffic Centric Model

Page 54: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2

1. Revenue Target

2. Budget = Revenue x Gross Margin or % of Revenue

Page 55: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Gross Margin vs % of RevenueGross Marginvs% of Revenue

Page 56: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2

1. Revenue Target

2. Budget = Revenue x Gross Margin (or % of Revenue)

3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value

Page 57: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

𝐀𝐎𝐕 =TotalRevenue

Orders = $100,000400 = $𝟐𝟓𝟎

Page 58: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2

1. Revenue Target

2. Budget = Revenue Target x Gross Margin

3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value

4. Visits = Orders / Conversion Rate

Page 59: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

𝐂𝐕𝐑 = OrdersVisits =

40020,000 = 𝟐%

Page 60: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2

1. Revenue Target

2. Budget = Revenue Target x Gross Margin

3. Orders = Revenue / Average Order Value

4. Visits = Orders / Conversion Rate

5. Cost per Visit = Budget / Visit

6. Cost per Order = Budget / Orders

Page 61: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Method 2

1. Revenue Target = $100,000

2. Budget = $100,000 x 20% = $20,000

3. Orders = $100,000 / $250 = 400

4. Visits = 400 / 2% = 20,000

5. Cost per Visit = $20,000 / 20,000 = $1.00

6. Cost per Order = $20,000 / 400 = $50.00

Page 62: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Key Take Aways

• Online advertising is GROWING in Canada

• Think layer cake, not a silver bullet

• You don’t have to break the bank

• Go Advertise!

Page 63: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

We help you sell stuff online

GrowthStrategy

Ecommerce Platforms

OnlineAdvertising

ConversionOptimization

Page 64: Show 'n Tell with Blair de Jong | The Commons Calgary, Calgary, Alberta | November 30, 2016

Blair de [email protected]@blairdejong