Seven Deadly Sins and Seven Heavenly Virtues

of 20 /20
Seven Deadly Sins Seven Heavenly Virtues vs

Embed Size (px)

Transcript of Seven Deadly Sins and Seven Heavenly Virtues

  • Seven Deadly Sins Seven Heavenly Virtuesvs

  • Pride

    Pride is the deadliest of the seven sins. It is the Original Sin, leading to the Fall of Man. It is the source of the other sins.

    Pride is essentially believing you are better than other people.

    For Dante, prideful people carry large stones to constantly bow and to be closer to the Earth (more grounded).

  • Humility

    Humility is the opposite of pride.According to C. S. Lewis:

    Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less.

    People with pride are characters. People with humility have character.

    When you encounter pride in yourself and others, try to be humble.

  • Envy

    Envy is a jealous feeling or resentful longing aroused by someone else's possessions, qualities, or luck. You covet what someone else has.

    In Dante's Purgatory, the punishment for the envious is to have their eyes sewn shut with wire because they have gained sinful pleasure from seeing others brought low.

  • Kindness

    Kindness is charity, compassion, praise, and friendship for its own sake. It is empathy and trust without prejudice or resentment.

    It is unselfish love and voluntary kindness without bias or spite.

    When you encounter envious people, use kindness. It builds more kindness.

  • Wrath

    Wrath is a forceful, vindictive anger that seeks to destroy a person. It is fiery and hateful. Wrath lasts longer than the grievance that provoked it.

    In Dante's Purgatory, smoke fills the eyes of wrathful people and chokes their breath. They are blinded.

    Dante seems to fight fire with fire.

  • Patience

    Patience is the ability to endure seemingly unbearable situations with forgiveness, moderation, and dignity. It is resolving conflicts peacefully, not violently.

    Accepting the grace to forgive; to show mercy to sinners. It is creating a sense of peaceful stability and community rather than suffering, hostility, and antagonism.

  • Sloth (or Laziness)

    Sloth can be defined as being lazy: mentally, spiritually, or physically. Sloth is the center of Dantes Hell.

    Apathy, or an uncaring attitude, is classified as sloth. Apathy is worse than ignorance. You dont care!

    In Dantes Purgatory, slothful people must constantly move. The laziest were required to run at top speed continuously.

  • Zeal (for Work)

    A zealous attitude towards work, home, and your life combats sloth every time. Zeal requires you to be:

    - Decisive

    - Steadfast

    - Persistent

    You must budget your time and monitor against laziness. When you are zealous when nobody is looking, people call it integrity.

  • Greed

    Greed is an insatiable desire to acquire (or possess) more than you need, especially with respect to material wealth. It can lead to bribery, hoarding, and stealing.

    In Dantes Purgatory, greedy people are forced to lie on the ground because they concentrated too much on earthly thoughts.

  • Generosity

    Generosity is the habit of giving freely without expecting anything in return. Generosity, charity, and self-sacrifice are aspects of love.

    Do not hoard your work, share it. Do not steal ideas, collaborate.

    According to Maya Angelou: No one has ever become poor from giving.

  • Gluttony

    Gluttony is an over-consumption of anything to the point of waste. Thomas Aquinas says gluttons may eat too much, too soon, too eagerly, too daintily, too expensively, and too wildly.

    In Dantes Purgatory, it rains garbage. The gluttons eat anything they can find. Only one glutton notices Dante and Virgil.

  • Moderation

    Moderation is the practice of restraint and self-control. It is the ability to be prudent:

    - Right action at the right time

    - Self-interest vs public interest

    - Sacrificing for another

    It is about honoring your needs, your customers needs, and the business. It is striking a balance.

  • Lust

    Lust is an intense desire for money, food, fame, power, or sex. It is an unnatural craving that people use to justify bad choices. It is selfish.

    In Dante's Inferno, lustful souls of are blown about in hurricane-like winds to symbolize their own lack of self-control to their lustful passions in earthly life.

  • Purity

    Purity is the ability to refrain from being distracted and influenced by hostility, temptation, or corruption.

    It means being honest with your boss, your family, your friends, co-workers, and your..self.

    Lust is very selfish. Purity is self-less.

  • Seven Deadly Sins lose to Seven Heavenly Virtues

  • Use Them at Work

  • Use Them at Home

  • Seven Deadly Sins Seven Heavenly Virtues

    Pride Humility

    Envy Kindness

    Wrath Forgiveness

    Sloth (or Laziness) Zeal (for Work)

    Greed Generosity

    Gluttony Moderation

    Lust Purity