Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

56
Optimizing Facebook Ads: How to Measure Success of Facebook Ads Presented by Dave Kerpen CEO Likeable July 20, 2011 Use hashtag #likeable

description

 

Transcript of Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Page 1: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Optimizing Facebook Ads:

How to Measure Success of Facebook Ads

Presented by Dave Kerpen CEO Likeable

July 20, 2011

Use hashtag #likeable

Page 2: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

• Intro to Facebook Ads• Hypertargeting Your Audience• Cost of Facebook Ads• Facebook Insights

What’s In Store:

chaustrophobic

Page 3: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Get Likeable Today!

likeablebook.com

@likeablebookfacebook.com/likeablebook

Learn More!

Page 4: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Work with Likeable!

Find Out More at Likeable.com

Page 5: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Intro to Facebook Ads

#likeable

Page 6: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

•Drive traffic

• Increase “Likes”

• Raise awareness

•Hypertarget ideal audience

Why Use Facebook Ads

Page 7: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Elements

• Picture

• Title (25 characters)

• Body (135 characters)

Page 8: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Creating a FB Ad Choose the page

youwant the ad to be for

Selected between Ads or Stories

Choose the tab the ad will land on

135 characters worthof creative text

The image or logoyou would like to use

Page 9: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Ask a Question

Page 10: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Call to Action

Page 11: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Use Compelling Images

Hypertargeting Your Audience

#likeable

Page 12: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Location

Page 13: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Demographic

Page 14: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Interest

Page 15: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Education

Page 16: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Job Title

Page 17: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target by: Company

Page 18: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

The Result:

Page 19: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Precise Interest Targeting

• Target by “likes and interests”

• Example to target cat lovers

• Facebook helps you find relevant keywords with suggestions

Page 20: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Broad Targeting

• Target larger demographics

• Prevent targeting from becoming tedious

• Easy to create and reach difficult demographics

Page 21: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Target Through Connection

Page 22: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Example

Page 23: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Advanced Connection Targeting

Page 24: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Nano-Targeting

Page 25: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Cost of Facebook Ads

#likeable

Page 26: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Campaigns, Pricing, Scheduling

Page 27: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Pay for Impressions

Page 28: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Pay for Clicks

Page 29: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Ad Status

Ads are either active, paused, or pending review from Facebook.

Page 30: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Facebook Insights

#likeable

Page 31: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

The Ads are Running…

Now what?!

Page 32: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: Impressions

Impressions = Number of People who saw the ad

Page 33: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: Frequency

Frequency = Avg. Number of times each person

saw the ad

Page 34: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: Click Through Rate

Click Through Rate (CTR) = # of Clicks divided by

# of Impressions

Page 35: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: Cost Per Click

CPC = Cost Per Click

Page 36: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: CPM

CPM = Cost Per 1000 Impressions

Page 37: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Metrics: Connections

Connections = The number of people who liked

your Page, RSVPed to your event, installed your app

within 24 hours of viewing or clicking on a

Sponsored Story or ad.

Page 38: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Reporting

Page 39: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Cost Per Fan

Calculating the Cost of a Fan: Spent Per Day / Actions = Cost Per Fan

95.60 / 524 = 0.18

18 cents per fan!

Page 40: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Cost Per Fan•The Wall Street Journal stated in February that the average CPL is $1.07

•Mashable stated on 7/18 that the average cost per click rose again climbing close to 62% this year!

•Webtrends shares stats from January about CTR and CPL comparing them to a year ago

http://on.wsj.com/qdCA8Lhttp://on.mash.to/roMvwvhttp://on.mash.to/n3jpuj

Page 41: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Conversion Rate

Calculating the Conversion Rate: Connections / Clicks = Conversion Rate

853 / 962= 86%

86% of people who click the ad convert to fans

Page 42: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Variables Affecting Cost Per Fan

• Alter your payment strategy based on outside variables

• Holidays can increase cost per click and cost per “like” because of a cluttered marketplace

• High Traffic Times such as Back-to-School and the Start of Spring can also increase costs

Page 43: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Refreshing Content and Ads

• Sometimes a Facebook ad can become stale

• Consider changing the image or text

• Something new and compelling can lead to new “likes”

• Revolving Content and Pictures – Change often

Page 44: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Refreshing or Changing Targets• All ads and brands are different

• Successful targeting is not always OBVIOUS

• Create ads and campaigns to do specific purposes

• Types of additional targeting• Similar Interest• Competitors• Location Based• Industries• Employees

Page 45: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

They Clicked the Ad! Now What?

Page 46: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Welcome Tab Tie in

Page 47: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Content of Page

Page 48: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Ad Leads to Relevant Content

Page 49: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Examples of Great Ads

Page 50: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Wrap Up

• Make your ad headline, copy, + photo engaging and enticing!

• Hypertarget your audience!

• Use Facebook Insights to measure success!

• Once you get the Likes, provide great content on your Fan Page!

Page 51: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen
Page 52: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Likeable’s Mission

To leverageleverage social media and word of mouth marketing to create

more transparent, responsive, likeablelikeable companies, organizations

and governments.

Page 53: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

How Likeable Works

Page 54: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Who Likeable Works With

Select Clients:•Verizon•1-800-Flowers•Neutrogena•Adobe•Entenmann’s •Penguin Books•HarperCollins•The Pampered Chef•Restaurant.com

Page 55: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

Reach Us At:

likeable.com

facebook.com/likeablemedia

@LikeableMedia

Page 56: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen

likeable.comlikeablebook.com

Engage with me @DaveKerpen on Twitter

Ask us questions @ Facebook.com/LikeableMedia

Or, email me anytime [email protected]

Thank You/ Grand Prize/ I Love Feedback

#likeable