Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar
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Transcript of Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar
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Iowa Department of Public HealthSPF SIG Substance Abuse
Webinar
Presented to Prevention AgenciesDecember 1, 2011
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Welcome to the IDPH SPF SIG Substance Abuse Webinar on Underage & Binge Drinking!
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Introductions• Julie Hibben, IDPH SPF SIG Project Director• Kelly Konz, ZLRIGNITION Account Supervisor• Nick Grant, ZLRIGNITION Account Manager• Andrea Marinaro, ZLRIGNITION Vice President,
Media Director
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Agenda• Overview• Underage Drinking
– Research Findings– Creative– Media
• Binge Drinking– Research Findings– Creative– Media
• Local Initiatives• Q&A
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Overview• Provides a statewide message about underage
drinking and adult binge drinking• SPF SIG counties should use both campaigns• IDPH will not fund additional media campaigns
through SPF SIG• Media campaign materials will be available to the
SPF SIG Coordinator through ZLR• Non-SPF SIG funded counties can utilize the media
campaigns by contacting Julie Hibben
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Campaign Reminders
• The campaigns will:– Help start the discussion– Spotlight the issues
• The campaigns will not:– Provide lots of specific education– Solely be the answer
• Counties will not be permitted to change the campaign materials
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Project Overview• Facilitate foundational research to understand current drinking
behaviors and attitudes, and perceived benefits, concerns and motivations
• Develop creative using insight obtained in foundational research for a marketing communications campaign to combat underage and binge drinking
• Conduct validation research to evaluate creative concepts and ultimately discover the best liked and most talk value campaign
• Develop media schedule to generate awareness and combat underage and binge drinking in the 23 designated Iowa counties
• Develop additional marketing materials to be used locally by prevention agencies
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Research Specifications• Foundational research
– 6 focus groups in Iowa City
• Creative validation research– 4 focus groups in Dubuque – Prevention agency phone calls
• Split evenly between underage and binge drinking• Mix of age, sex, geography, education and income• Must have consumed alcohol or be open to before age 21• Participants completed multiple exercises throughout the
groups to provide framework for discussion
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Alcohol Adoption & Use
• Across all sessions, a common adoption process surfaced
– Many try alcohol for the first time between the ages of 13-15– College as a lifestage offers a constant drinking occasion– Drinking tends to wane after college as adult priorities shift
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Underage Drinking
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Research Findings
• No stereotypical “face” to underage drinking – behavior transcends group, crowd, gender
• Incidence of underage drinking is high among high school teens - increases as students age
• Once in college enjoying the first real taste of real freedom, the vast majority of students drink at least occasionally
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Research Findings• Consistent attitudes and behaviors exist across
all age groups– Reasons to drink alcohol
• Aspiration: Feel older, more mature, “badass” status• Inclusion: Feel like you’re in the group, bonding or
connecting with others, easier to meet people• Confidence: More outgoing, lose inhibitions• Entertainment: Curious, want to try it• Outlet: Stress relief, to spite parents• Accessibility: It’s not hard to get
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Research Findings
– Reasons NOT to drink alcohol• Not secure: Unsafe location, uncomfortable• Negative physical effects: Hangover, sick, blackouts• Behavior concerns: Bad decisions, look like an idiot• Risking future: Priority on sports and education, don’t want to mess
up future• Negative impact on relationships: Say things don’t mean• Safety: Look out for friends who are drinking• Break parental trust: Morals, getting caught, loss of trust• Long-term health effects: Overall, weight gain• Potential legal issues: Illegal, getting arrested• Tragedy: Drunk driving, accidents, death
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Underage Age Conclusions• Reach target before their critical decision moment.
Younger students are much more impressionable.– Give them the confidence to make a smart decision before
they are faced with the decision to drink for the first time.
• Can’t tell this audience not to drink. Instead, educate on the risks and harms.
• Make the audience stop and think about their drinking decision. Empower them to take control of their life.
• Keep it real, avoid a lecture
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“Bottle Cap”
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“Bottle Cap”
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“Bottle Cap”
• Creative Research Validation– Easy to grasp, yet effective– Strong message on how drinking can affect your life– Appealing as highly relevant aspects of life potentially
affected by underage drinking– Inclusive/clicks for everyone– Stopping power– Outdoor simple, clear
“I like how it makes you think about school, all of it, your whole future.” – Female teen, 14
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Media Schedule• Cable TV
– Cable advertising provides the ability to geographically and demographically target the audience and efficiently cover the specific counties of interest across the state
– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids
– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo
• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),
Spencer, Western
• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)
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Media Schedule• Cable TV
– Commercials will air on highly-rated stations including: ESPN, MTV, Comedy Central, Cartoon , Discovery, History, TBS, E!, Animal Planet, Spike and ABC Family
– 40 spots per week will air from 3pm – 12am– Commercials will air for 10 weeks between December and
April– Added Value: Free spots will air on cable networks as PSA
match and autofill, increasing the frequency of the message at no charge to IDPH
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Media Schedule• Broadcast TV
– Sioux City market only– Commercials will begin airing in January and will air
throughout February “sweeps” weeks when programming is new and viewership is highest
– Commercials will air during live airings of American Idol each week to efficiently reach the 13-16 year-old target audience
– Schedule runs for 9 weeks, January – March– 1 spot per week will air during American Idol
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Media Schedule• Outdoor
– Outdoor will further extend the reach of the campaign into the counties of interest
– Each county of interest will have a billboard message except for Ringgold in which no boards were available during this time frame
– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January– Boards will remain posted after January as added value as
available in each market
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Binge Drinking
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Research Findings• Adult drinkers express similar motivations and
attitudes around drinking as their underage counterparts– Reasons to drink alcohol
• Socialize: Spend time with friends, family, co-workers• Entertainment: Have fun, laugh, dance, happy mood• Make memories: Bond with others, good time• Outlet: Relaxing, stress-relief, takes the edge off• Confidence: Ice-breaker• Taste & refreshment: Acquired taste for alcohol• Health benefits: Red wine can be good for you
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Research Findings
– Reasons NOT to drink alcohol• Negative physical effects: Hangover, sick, blackouts, no memories• Behavior concerns: Might make bad decisions, act stupid• Negative impact on relationships: Say things don’t mean, regrets• Long-term health effects: Overall, weight gain, potential
alcoholism• Potential legal issues: OWI, tickets, trouble with police• Tragedy: Drunk driving, accidents, death• Family impact: Poor role model, not able to take care of kids
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Research Findings• Young college students are underage, but
more closely aligned with motivations of legal drinkers – fewer drinking risks perceived once on college campus
• Considered a problem for younger people and most adults are reluctant to self-identify with binge drinking– Binge drinking advertising is perceived as
something to target college students
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Research Findings• Binge drinking generally considered no big
deal• Many described a “crossroads” around 5-7
drinks where an occasion is elevated to the next level
5-7Drinks
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Research Findings
• There is a strong disconnect between perceptions of what binge drinking is and the current resources’ definition
Light Drinking Moderate Drinking Heavy Drinking# of
Drinks 1-3 4-6 7-12+
Most wouldn’t consider binge drinking until end of Heavy Drinking:
Approx. 10 drinks
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Research Findings
• Binge drinking does not equate to a number of drinks and may lead to counter-argument
• Explanation of binge drinking based on mindset and behavior (obvious lack of control) when drinking
“Putting a number on it is ridiculous. If it says 4-5 drinks, they must really mean 8-10.” – Male adult, 22
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Binge Drinking Conclusions• Reach audience at the intersection of developmental
lifestages – young adults are the sweet spot for binge drinking
• Reframe thoughts because binge drinking is not considered a concern for most. Must educate to help drinkers understand this is a big issue.
• Encourage personal evaluation and help audience realize their drinking occasionally falls into the binge category. Identify the crossroads when fun becomes trouble.
• Keep it real, funny
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“Stay Classy”
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“Stay Classy”
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“Stay Classy”
• Creative Research Validation– Creative generated most excitement and energy– “Stay Classy” line is highly appealing– Highly appealing to younger audience– Satirical humor liked by many– Would watch repeatedly and talk to friends about– Expandable campaign – potential to go viral– Billboard received great feedback – simple and humorous
“I like the ‘Stay Classy’. If your friends want you to drink, just say, ‘Naahhh… I want to Stay Classy.” – Male adult, 22
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Media Schedule• Cable TV
– Cable advertising provides the ability to geographically and demographically target the audience and efficiently cover the specific areas of interest across the state
– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids
– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo
• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),
Spencer, Western
• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)
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Media Schedule• Cable TV
– Commercials will air on highly-rated stations including: ESPN, Discovery, TLC, FX, TBS, Cartoon, Comedy, History, TNT, Spike, History and ABC Family
– 40 spots per week will air from 6am – 12am– Schedule runs for 10 weeks between December and April– Added Value: Free spots will air on cable networks as PSA
match and autofill, increasing the frequency of the message at no charge to IDPH
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Media Schedule• Broadcast TV
– Sioux City market only– Spots air during February “sweeps” weeks when programming is
new and viewership is at its highest– Commercials will air during programming that best reaches the
18-22 year-old audience• Early Fringe: Simpsons, Family Guy• Prime Access: Two and a Half Men• Prime Time: American Idol, Glee, Simpsons, Modern Family,
House, CSI, How I Met Your Mother, Grammys• Sports: Super Bowl pre-show
– Schedule runs for 4 weeks in February– Purchase 50 rating points/week against 18-24 year-olds
• Equivalent to reaching 50% of this audience each week
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Media Schedule• Outdoor
– Outdoor will further extend the reach of the campaign into the counties of interest
– Each county of interest will have a billboard message except for Ringgold, Audubon and Jefferson in which no boards were available during this time frame
– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January– Boards will remain posted after January as added value as
available in each market
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Local Marketing Materials
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Television• Utilize TV spots from statewide campaign • Localize with personalized tag (agency name,
address, phone number, web address, etc.)• TV/Cable stations provide tag for little to no cost• Gather dub requirements from station (electronic,
Beta SP dub, etc.) and contact ZLR for file/dub• No charge for electronic files. Cost is approximately
$40 per physical dub + shipping.
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Outdoor• Utilize outdoor from statewide campaign• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• Outdoor production companies will print boards• Printing costs run approximately $100 per poster
board and $1800 per vinyl board
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Underage Poster & Print Ad Creative
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Poster• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,
address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Sizes are 11”x17” x 24”x36”• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request
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Print Ad• Poster artwork can also be used as print ad• Vertical formatted BW or Color ad• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,
address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Newspapers will provide tag for little to no
cost• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• No cost to send electronic pdf file to
newspaper
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Underage Online Banner Ads Creative
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Online Banner Ads
• Banner ads created for use online advertising• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,
and web address or phone number)• Gather size requirements and artwork will be
provided by ZLR upon request
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ZLRIGNITION Contact Information
• Contact Nick Grant for creative orders– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]
• Contact Andrea Marinaro for creative orders– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]
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How To Run Materials In Your Local Community
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Pros and Cons of Advertising Options
Medium Pros Cons
Cable
Low cost per spot High frequency of the message Target networks with high appeal to
target audience Excellent added value
High frequency, low reach Only reaches households that subscribe
to cable (51% of Iowa Households) Low rural coverage
Broadcast Television
Mass reach medium, available in nearly all Iowa households
Buying the Iowa TV markets of: Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, Mason City, Quad Cities, Sioux City, Ottumwa, and Omaha reaches 99% of Iowa Households
Consistent added value results
Higher cost per spot than cable (priced based on reaching a percentage of a target audience using rating points)
High reach, low frequency
Outdoor Billboards
Metro and rural coverage Visually appealing message Message cannot be shut off Excellent added value results
Expensive to cover the entire state High production costs to print vinyl Cannot target demographically Message must be succinct
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Medium Pros Cons
Radio
Rural and metro coverage available Generates frequency of the message Ads are 60 seconds long for messages
with more to say Can target specific times of day
Expensive to cover the entire state Listenership is fragmented Satellite radio, CDs and iPod use
continues to rise Good added value
Online
Low cost per thousand Can purchase millions of impressions on
a variety of web sites Geo and demo targeting available Measurable results Effective when driving someone to a web
site for more information
Must have a good web site Defining success based on clicks to
your web site may be misleading, some messages should be used for generating awareness
Dependant on a person seeking out your message
Message can be ignored No added value
Can target metro and rural areas Good for reaching older demographics
Expensive to cover the state Overall newspaper readership and
subscribers are down No added value results
Pros and Cons of Advertising Options
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Medium Pros Cons
Movie Theater
Can reach people out with friends with an entertaining message
Commercials run on large movie theater screens before the movie, captive audience
Reaches ethnic and young audiences that tend to frequent movies
Metro and rural coverage available
Expensive to cover the state High production costs to transfer
commercial to film Spots run before movies so if people
show up late they miss the spot Cannot target demographically People that don’t attend movies won’t
see the spot No added value
Gas Station Signage
Reach people at gas pumps and convenience stores
Metro and rural coverage available Good added value
Cannot target demographically Message is static, does not necessarily
draw attention
Mall Signage
Target metro areas Message can be large and visually
appealing
Message must be family friendly Inability to target demographics Low rural reach
Bus Signage
Targets metro areas with visually appealing message
Mobile billboard Good added value
Not available in every area of the state
Bathroom Signage
Target people in bars and restaurants Message can be detailed Good added value
Not available in every area of the state
Pros and Cons of Advertising Options
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Cost Comparisons for AdsCost Comparisons for space costs for Des Moines market: Cable Spot One 30 second spot on HGTV - $78 Television One 30 second spot on KCCI 10pm News - $900 Outdoor Billboard One vinyl 14x48 billboard in Des Moines - $4,200/month Online One thousand banner ads on youtube.com - $2.50 cost per thousand Radio One 60 second spot on WHO-AM - $225 Gas Station Gas pump signs at one gas station - $415/month Movie Theater One week of commercials on 20 screens at Jordan Creek theaters - $425/week Mall Signage Backlit at Valley West Mall - $800/month Print One half-page ad in Sunday Des Moines Register – $10,000 Bus Signage One ad on side of bus - $250/month Bathroom Signage One ad in a bathroom at one location - $205/month
Note: Costs are constantly changing and are based on multiple factors, these numbers are for reference only
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Glossary of Media TermsCost Per Point – cost to deliver the equivalent of one rating point (1 percent) of a specific audience segment with a media vehicle. Used to compare cost efficiencies of one TV/Radio program versus another. Cost Per Thousand (CPM) – the cost per 1,000 people (or homes) delivered by a medium. For example, a media vehicle that costs $10,000 and has an audience of 500,000 has a CPM of $20. Used to compare efficiencies across mediums Frequency – the number of times the target audience has an opportunity to be exposed to a message Gross Rating Point - Reach multiplied by frequency is the gross rating point or the sum of all ratings. For example, if one commercial is scheduled in each of two TV programs each with a 10 rating, that will accumulate 20 GRPs. The reason for using the word “gross” indicates there is duplication between the two ratings so the people who viewed program A might also view program B therefore, they do not reach 20% of people but the equivalent of 20 percent of the people, one time with the message. Impression – the gross sum of all media exposures without regard to duplication expressed in absolute audience numbers rather than a percentage. Rating – Percentage of a given population group consuming a medium at a particular moment. For example, we say a TV program had a 10 rating of adults 18-49 is to say that 10 percent of the adult population ages 18-49 viewed the average minute of the program. Ratings apply to specific demographic groups as well as geographic areas. Reach – the number of different individuals exposed to a commercial, it is a net number that eliminates duplication. Reach for television and radio is usually shown by week or cumulatively for a 4-week period or longer.
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Q&A