Introduction to Paid Search By Matt Van Wagner
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Transcript of Introduction to Paid Search By Matt Van Wagner
#SMX #13D @mvanwagner
Getting Started on Google, Bing, and Yahoo
INTRODUCTION TO PAID SEARCH
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Opening New Business Goal: Get people in store
One Month Later:
124K Ad Impressions
300+ Qualified Visitors to Site
Cost - $185
Why I Love PPC
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Why I Love PPC
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Why I Love PPC
Shows only to these people !!!!
This Simple Ad…
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Investment in PPC ads is measurable & scalable.
Why I Love PPC
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Why I Love PPC
PPC Allows You More Control over Messaging
Get going quickly.
Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world).
Manage risk of algorithm changes.
Predictable, dependable flow of traffic.
You write the ads that appear.
You determine what pages visitors first see.
Shows you what keywords convert !!!
PPC and SEO are Complementary
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What is Google?
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• Reach Audiences Worldwide • Any Country • Any Language
• 20+ Billion searches/mo. worldwide
• 67% of all U.S. searches are powered by Google
World’s Favorite Search Engine
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Google Search Ads
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• Google search powers many web properties
• Google is default search engine - AOL - Ask
• - Google Maps - Internet Service Providers (ISPs) such as Xfinity, Earthlink, Verizon, & others. Wherever Google provides search results, they can also place your ads.
More than just Google.com
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More than just Text Ads Google places banner and rich media ads across the internet.
• Internet users spend
95% of their time browsing /reading website content.
• Google’s display ad network reaches 2 Million+ websites, videos, & mobile apps around the world.
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• A Powerful, Global Online Advertising Platform
• Puts full control in your hands!
• Creating Ads • Budgeting • Scheduling • Targeting • Reporting • Automation
Google AdWords
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This is Bing
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This is Yahoo!
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• Microsoft & Yahoo! Formed a Search Alliance (Jul-09) The Yahoo! Bing Network
Microsoft’s Bing Search Powers Bing and Yahoo! natural and paid search results Microsoft’s Bing Ads Unified ad serving platform to manage campaigns on Yahoo! and Bing. ** Display ads not included in the alliance.
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Huge Search Market
Unique Searchers Unique searchers on the Yahoo! Bing Network.
Yahoo! Bing Network unique searchers that don’t use Google.
In the U.S. 5.6 Billion searches monthly; roughly 1/3 of all U.S. searches. 163 Million unique searchers 54 Million searchers who are not using Google
Wordwide 489 Million unique searchers 94 Million who do not use Google!
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Your Ads Reach Here
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And Here…
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• Puts Full Control into Hands of Advertisers!
• Creating Ads • Budgeting • Scheduling • Geo-Targeting • Reporting • Plus….
Easy Import from Google AdWords
Bing Ads
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Paid Search Overview
Keywords:
Ads:
Words & phrases that trigger ads to show
Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images.
Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad.
Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above. Testing & tracking results, increasing conversions, revenues, and returns on ad spend.
Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your ads, get clicks & conversions.
Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track such as leads, orders, downloads, phone calls.
Targeting: Audiences, Geo-segments, devices, day parting
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Geographic
Time of Day / Day of Week
Demographic
Device Types
Behavioral
Audiences
Targeting Options
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Where you have an advantage…exploit it! Improve Ad Position & ROI Bid by Time Zone Target Areas by Language Choose Your Battle Zones
Geographic Targeting
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Geographic Targeting
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Time & Day Targeting
Note: Ad scheduling works differently on Google AdWords vs Bing Ads. Bing Ads: Scheduling times based on where users see the ad. Google AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account location.
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Demographic Targeting With Bing Ads, you can bid more for your best demographic segments.
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How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work?
● How does an ad get selected?
● Does the highest bid always get the top spot?
● How much does it cost to show my ad?
● What is the best ad position?
Paid Search Auctions
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How Search Engines Work
You Search Engine
Schumann Dichterliebe
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How Search Engines Work
You Search Engine Advertisers
Schumann Dichterliebe CD
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What is Best Ad Position?
In general, the higher your ads appear, the more clicks you get and the more you pay.
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Your Keywords & Max Bids
User Search Query: Blue Widgets
Red Widgets $.10 Blue Widgets $.10 Blue Green Widgets $.10
Blue Widgets Buy blue widgets today. Free next-day shipping. www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget
In Your Perfect World...
You're a Winner!!! CPC = $.10 or less!
Your Ad
Your Site:
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…this would be a great set of answers. Ads Competing Against Each Other
On a search for the color blue…
What Search Engines Want
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$ 3 $ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25 $10
$ .30 $ 6
If highest bid determined ad display… What Advertisers Want
Ads Competing Against Each Other
on Bid Price
…results may not be quite as relevant.
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Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking ● Relevancy:
Relationship of Keywords à Ads à Landing page The nature of the click
● Historical Performance (CTR):
Keywords Keywords + Ads in combination Ad groups, campaigns, account
● Max Bid Price
A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
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Who Wins the Top Spot?
$ .30
$ 3 $ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25 $6
$ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.10
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality Scores look like this
AD RANK = QS x Max Bid
1.8 1.2 1.5 .95 .90
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What Do They Pay?
$ 3 $ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25 $6
$ .30 $ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.15
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality Scores look like this
AD RANK = QS x MAX Bid
1.8 1.2 1.5 .95 .90
$ .10
$ .96
$3.18
$4.81
$1.68
Lesson:
Write relevant ads and select
relevant keywords.
Bid reasonably.
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Getting Started
What is the primary goal of your campaign? ● Leads, sales, brand building?
How do you define success? ● Online vs. offline sales conversions. ● Steps on the path towards sales conversion.
Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC!
How do you measure success? ● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tracking.
● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc).
● How much the phones are ringing.
● Total company sales and profits increasing.
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Campaign Ad Group
Ad 1
keywords keyword1 keyword2 keyword3 keyword4 .
.
Ad 2
Landing Page
Structure of a PPC Account
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Getting Semantics Straight
Keywords are not Search Queries
Keywords = what you bid on
Search Queries = what users type into a search box
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Keyword Match Types
Match types control how closely your keywords match with a user’s search query:
Broad Match: Very loose matching = too much traffic Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic
Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
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Broad Match Match Type Broad Match (DEFAULT) Syntax word1 word2 word3 What it matches to: Queries with words in any order.
Synonyms, plurals & any close variants that search engines believe could be relevant
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match? wedding cake wedding cake YES cakes wedding cake MAYBE pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES wedding dresses wedding cake MAYBE yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
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Broad Match Modifier Match Type Modified Broad Match Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 What it matches to: Queries containing those keywords in any order
Plurals, close variants
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake +wedding +cake YES birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake MAYBE cakes +wedding +cake NO wedding dresses +wedding +cake NO
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Phrase Match Match Type Phrase Syntax “word1 word2 word3” What it matches to: Queries with those words together
Queries in that word order Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such
as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match? wedding cake “wedding cake” YES Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES
gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
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Exact Match Match Type Exact Syntax [word1 word2] What it matches to: Queries with only those words
Queries with exact word order
Optionally: Close variations
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake [wedding cake] YES
wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES
white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO
wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
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Negative Match Match Type Negative Match
Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3 What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal keyword
If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly. Optionally: There are Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives available
(AdWords).
User Search Query: Your negative keywords are: Will it prevent the match
wedding cake -wedding YES birthday cakes -wedding NO pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES weeding cup cakes -wedding NO cakes -wedding NO hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
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Building Keyword Lists
Start with your own brain
● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting?
● What words do other people use?
● Synonyms, misspellings.
● Words that will bring the wrong people to you.
● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka terms, tokens)
● Absolutely use your own brand names.
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Create Keyword Lists shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds labrador puppies labradors black lab puppies black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs retreivers pug dogs puppies small pet dogs
lassie dogs collies poodles toy poodles shitzo mutts weiner dogs irish retriever sheep herding dogs pure bred dobermans pit bulls vietnamese pot belly pigs dalmations dalmation puppies dalmation pups golden retrievers golden retriever
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Organize Keyword Lists
Pull them into smaller, tighter groups:
Labradors labrador puppies labradors black labs golden lab chocolate labrador brown labradors black lab puppies black labs
Shepherds shepherds german shepherds shepherd dogs pure-bred shepherds
Retrievers golden retrievers golden retriever retreivers
Pugs pug dogs pug dog pugs
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Keyword Tools Search Engine Tools Google: Search Based Keyword Tool
Microsoft: Microsoft Advertising Intelligence
Competitive Analysis Tools – Ads & Keywords AdGooroo SpyFu Keyword Spy WordTracker Ispionage
Keyword Manipulation Tools Rapid Keyword Permutator
WordStream Microsoft Excel
SEOBook Acquisio Broad Match Modifier Generator
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Write Great Ads
Note the Variety of Copy Styles:
1st Person story.
Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes”
Price Appeal
Convenience - Call 800 #
Get Information – Medical Alert Guide
We’re different from “Them”
Which of these is the best ad?
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Who are you selling to?
Who are you talking to?
Who buys? Who influences? Who is it actually for?
What motivates them?
Speak directly to one of these people.
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What are you selling?
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What are they really buying?
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Features: Timer, Easy to Use, Discount, Affordable Free Shipping
Benefits: Organize pills better Take charge of your health Keep parents well connected
Are you selling what they're buying?
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Stress Benefits, Not Features
Feature
Benefit
Creative Benefit
Vibrating Watch Alarm
Get pill reminders even if you have trouble hearing.
Vibrating pill reminder. Works even when Mom’s TV is blaring away.
Vibrating pill reminder works even if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
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Tips for Writing Great Ads
Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain Go for a walk Sing a song Laugh Doodle
· Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets!
· Start with story-telling. Talk out loud.
· Try a “non-verbal zero draft”
· Go listen to your sales team at work.
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Writing Great Ads
Headlines Use keywords in the headline when possible. Write dozens of headlines, till you find ones you like.
Key Headline Concepts Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life.
Great Words to Use in Headlines Find. Compare. Save. New. Improved. Easiest. Top-Rated.
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Writing Great Ads
@mvanwagner
Ad Copy Use your keywords in the body copy, too, but don’t keyword stuff.
Same Key Concepts as Headlines Save You Money. Save You Time. Improve Your Life.
Try full sentences.
Use idioms only when appropriate
Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions.
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Ads Designed to Filter Clicks
- Many words have more than one meaning (homonyms).
- You need to clearly identify purpose and intent of your ad.
- You’ll get fewer clicks & CTR, but you’ll get more of the right clicks.
Home Care for Elders Need help with in-home care for an elderly loved one? Call us. www.home-care.com California
Home Care Experienced with all aspects of home care. Call us Today! www.home-care.com California
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Ad Extensions
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Product Listing Ads (PLAs) for Shopping
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Evaluating Ad Performance
Which of these Ads is performing better?
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Evaluating Ad Performance
Lessons: Be wary of small samples sizes. Measure against conversions, not just click-through rates (CTR).
Conversion Rate: 10.5% Conversion Rate: 2.5%
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Banner / Image Ads Image Ads Video Ads
Mobile Ads
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Bidding & Budgeting Options
Bidding
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) aka cost per action/acquisition
Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM)
Budgeting Daily, Weekly or by Campaign
@mvanwagner
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How Much is a Click Worth? How much is a Visitor (click) worth?
What is your site conversion rate now?
What is your offline close ratio?
How does that translate to revenues?
Clicks 20 Conversion % 5%
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
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How Much is a Click Worth? How much can you afford to pay for each click?
Cost per Click (CPC) $ .25 Clicks 20 Conversion % 5% Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks
= $5.00 / 20
= .$25
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Bid Modifiers
Not every click has the same value.
Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on:
Device
Location
Time of Day
Retargeting Audiences
Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
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Landing Pages
Lobster Bisque?
Master the basics.
Get fancy later.
Any page can be a landing page Use properly built webpages:
Include Title, Description, Alt Tags, and spider-able body copy.
Get users quickly to what they want.
@mvanwagner
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Landing Pages
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Landing Pages
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Landing Pages
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• Process Creates Sustainable Advantage Its not just about keywords, ads, bids Plan on working in a disciplined manner
• Use Systems-Level Thinking Align campaign goals with larger company goals. Increase sales, not visitors
• Track Performance and Make Adjustments Be methodical, measure and test everything you can Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis
• Set Good Goals and work towards them
Better PPC Every Day
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Stay Fresh & Keep Learning!
• Books – Advanced Google AdWords 3rd Edition
by Brad Geddes – http://www.advancedadwordsbook.com/
• Blogs, News Sites – www.SearchEngineLand.com – www.MarketingLand.com – www.thesempost.com – www.ppchero.com
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THANK YOU!
SEE YOU @SMX WEST SAN JOSE, CA
MARCH 1-3, 2016