Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

15
Software Club – SaaS Series Finance – Chad Varra SendGrid, Inc.

description

Chad Varra, CFO of SendGrid, leads a discussion with members of the Boulder and Denver Software Clubs. These slides show some of the numbers and concepts to which Chad spoke.

Transcript of Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Page 1: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Software Club – SaaS Series

Finance – Chad VarraSendGrid, Inc.

Page 2: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies
Page 3: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies
Page 4: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Key goals

Growth Profitability

Page 5: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

• Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)• Customers

Measuring Growth

Page 6: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Growth

Increase in MRR/Customers

# of Deals

Deal Growth

Add New Product/Service

for upsell

Decrease in MRR/Customers

Churn

Deal Reduction

Page 7: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

JanuaryFebruary

Beginning MRR $1,000 $1,275New MRR 250 300Increased MRR 100 100Lost MRR (50) (60)Decrease MRR (25) (20)Ending MRR $1,275 $1,595

MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue

Page 8: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

January FebruaryBeg Customer Count 5,000

5,130New Customers 150

200Lost Customers _(20)_ _(25)Ending Customer Count 5,130

5,305

Increase Customers 75 75Decrease Customers (10) (10)

Customer Count

Page 9: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Profitability

Customer

CAC

LTV

Financial Statement

Cash Flow

Income Statement

Per Employee

Revenue per Employee

Expenses per Employee

Page 10: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)• What does it cost to acquire a customer?• How many months of MRR does it take to

recover your costs of acquiring that customer?

Page 11: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

CAC = (Sales + Marketing +Deploy Costs) # of Deals Closed

Sales Costs = $100,000Marketing Costs = $150,000# of Deals Closed = 600

$100,000 + $150,000 = $416 CAC 600

Page 12: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

How long does it take to recover the CAC?Payback Period = CAC/MRR per Customer

Average MRR Per Customer = $100$416/$100 = 4.16 months

Rule of thumb: 12 months or less is good.

Page 13: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Lifetime Value of Customer (Average Lifetime of a Customer * MRR/Cust)- Cost of Revenue- CAC= Lifetime Value of Customer

Lifetime of Customer = 36 mths 24 mthsMRR per Customer = $100 $100Margin = 80% 80%CAC = $416 (4.16 mth payback) $1,600 (16 mth payback)(36*$100)-$720-$416 = $2,464 (24*$100)-$480-$1,600 = $320

Rule of thumb: LTV that is greater than 3x CAC is good

Page 14: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Churn

Churn

Sales

Customer Satisfaction

Product issues

Net Promoter Score

Impacts LTV

Page 15: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

So What Are Your Levers• Increase MRR per customer• Increase Customers• Manage CAC• Increase LTV• Decrease Churn