Efrat Kasznik, President, Foresight Valuation Group March 16th,...

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Efrat Kasznik, President, Foresight Valuation Group March 16 th , 2016

Transcript of Efrat Kasznik, President, Foresight Valuation Group March 16th,...

  • Efrat Kasznik, President, Foresight Valuation Group March 16th, 2016

  • 2 Foresight Valuation Group © 2016

    SaaS: Market and Valuation Trends

    ¨  According to Software Equity Group (SEG), SaaS revenues will likely represent about 25 percent of the overall software market in the next five years.

    ¨  Growth in M&A Activity (SEG 2015 Data): ¤ SaaS mergers and acquisitions transactions grew 30

    percent in 2016 ¤ Spread across many different sectors and segments ¤ SaaS exit multiples are about 2x higher than On-

    Premise exit multiples

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    Growth in SaaS M&A Activity (Source: SEG 2015 Report)

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    SaaS M&A By Product Category (Source: SEG 2015 Report)

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    SaaS Company Exit Multiples (Source: SEG 2015 Report)

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    On-Premise Company Exit Multiples (Source: SEG 2015 Report)

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    Factors Contributing to SaaS Valuations

    ¨  Higher Rate of Cloud Adoption by Enterprise Clients: ¤  Cost Savings, efficiency outweigh Security concerns

    ¤  Drives increase in M&A and prices

    ¨  Accelerated revenue growth ¤  Large cash “trough”: Marketing first, Revenues Later

    ¨  Optimizing User Metrics: The SaaS Dashboard ¤  Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) ¤  Monthly Recurring Revenues (MRR)

    ¤  Customer Lifetime Value (LTV) ¤  Manage Churn to a minimum

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    The SaaS Cash “Trough”

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    SaaS Metric Definitions

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    Key SaaS Metrics: the “Holy” Ratios

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    Simple Example: Managing Ratios

    ¨  CAC = $1,000 ¤ $100,000/year sales person, 100 customers a year

    ¨  MRR = $50 (monthly price) ¨  Monthly Churn = 2% (leaving every month) Ratios: ¨  LTV = 50/0.02 = $2,500 ¨  Months to recover CAC = 1,000/50 = 20 (too long) ¨  LTV/CAC = 2.5 (too low)

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    Improving SaaS Metrics

    ¨  Lower CAC: ¤ Increasing the sales quota ¤ Reducing the Salary

    ¨  Higher LTV: ¤ Increasing MRR (charging more per customer) ¤ Reducing Churn (key metric for SaaS companies)

  • Foresight Valuation Group © 2016

    THANK YOU!

    Efrat Kasznik President, Foresight Valuation Group

    [email protected] www.linkedin.com/in/ekasznik

    650-561-3374

    www.foresightvaluation.com

    Presentation available upon request