CPS 296.3 Auctions & Combinatorial Auctions Vincent Conitzer [email protected].
Efficient Auctions Mech for Mobile Ads
description
Transcript of Efficient Auctions Mech for Mobile Ads
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EFFICIENT AUCTION MECHANISMS FOR MOBILE ADS
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The Mobile Ad. Ecosystem
Ad Inventory
Different Auction Mechanisms
Vickrey Auctions
First price sealed bid auction
Key Parameters
Real Time Bidding
Challenges
Agenda
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Why Mobile Ads?
Source: http://techcrunch.com/tag/mobile-advertising/
And
The whole biz Model is based on auctioningMobile Ad
space!
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The Mobile Advertising ecosystem
AD.
EXCHANGE
AD.
EXCHANGE
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Advertisers
Apps (Users)Ad Servers
That track users
With/Without
Cookies
INTERMEDIARIES
DE
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ND
SID
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AD
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DIA
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LA
TF
OR
MS
SU
PP
LY
SID
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RTB
EXCHANGE
AD.
EXCHANGE
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AD AGGREGATORS AUCTIONEERS TARGET MARKET
Ad Networks
That aggregate
Demand
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The Mobile Ad. Inventory
InterstitialsExtended BannersInteractive BannerFloating Banners
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Types of Mobile Ad Auctions
VickreyauctionsPre-awardauctions(PRE)Post-awardauctions(POST)
Firstpricesealedbidauction(FPSB)RealTimeBidding
1. Reserve Price2. Reserve Price
3. Bid prices 4. Bid prices
Au
cti
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Ad
Exchanges/
Ad Servers
Ad Networks
Au
cti
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Bid
din
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Buyers
Bid
din
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5. Winner awarded6. Winner awarded
7. Buyer pays 8. Intermediary pays
Bidding Auctions
* Direct bidding
by buyers
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Key Parameters that influenceClickThe act of clicking on an ad (banner or text link) that has been served to a mobile screen.
Click-ThroughThe act of clicking on a banner or text link ad, which takes the user through to
Used as a counterpoint to impressions to judge the response-inducing power of the ad.
Click-Through-Rate (CTR) or Response rate
Expressed as a percentage and calculated by taking the number of clickthroughsthe ad received, dividing that number by the number of impressions and multiplying by 100 to obtain a percentage:
Example: 20 clicks / 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR.
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Key Parameters that influence
CPM (Cost Per Mille, Cost Per Thousand)
The price paid by an advertiser for a site displaying their ad 1,000 times.
Cost per Click (CPC) The price paid by an advertiser for a single click on its ad that
brings the end user to its intended destination.
eCPMA useful reporting metric for measuring revenue generated across various marketing channels, eCPM or effective cost per thousand impressions is calculated by dividing total earnings by the total number of impressions in thousands.
Example:, if a publisher earns US$200 from 40,000 impressions, the eCPM calculation would be (US$200/40,000) x1000 giving an eCPM of US$5.00.
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Key Parameters that influence
eCPC
eCPCis the effective cost of each click, calculated by dividing total earnings by the total number of clicks.
Fill Rate
The percentage of ad requests that are filled with ads (that is, where an ad is displayed to the end user). Impression An impression is generated every time an end user views an ad.
RPM
RPM or Revenue Per Mille is the earning (estimated earnings) you will get for every 1000 impression. Where CPM is the cost of ads for 1000 ad impressions to advertiser, RPM is the revenue for publisher from 1000 impressions. RPM is calculated by dividing your possible estimated earnings by the number of page views, impressions, or queries you received, which is then multiplied by 1000.
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Efficient Auction mechanisms for Mobile Ads
For : Ad Exchanges/Supply side platforms
Optimal reserve price of Ad exchange depends both on the number of ad networks and Advertisers/Publishers per ad networks.
Optimal Reserve price increases with increase in number of advertisers/publisher and ad networks participating in the auction
For : Ad Networks/Demand side platforms
First-price sealed-bid auctions (FPSB) seem to provide a good trade-off between revenue and efficiency.
Ad Networks shall find FPSBs better than the other two auctions
For : Advertisers/Publishers
For a non-captive advertiser/publisher, Post-award Vickrey auctions are preferred.
For captive buyers, Pre-award Vickrey auctions are preferred
Pre-award Vickrey auctions yield lower social welfare than the other auctions