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E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel, Ph.D Director: RBC Financial...
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Transcript of E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel, Ph.D Director: RBC Financial...
E-Marketing: A Consumer Behavior Perspective Professor: Jacques Nantel, Ph.D
Director: RBC Financial group Chair in e-CommerceHEC Montréal
May 2006
World Wide
• More and more people have access to the Web or other forms of e-commerce
• More and more are seeking information through the Web before buying
• More and more are actually buying on the Web
Active Home Internet Users by Country, November 2005
Country October2005
November2005
Change (%) One-MonthChange
Australia 9,935,596 9,887,757 -0.48 -47,838
Brazil 11,729,619 12,529,892 6.82 800,273
France 16,165,914 16,855,607 4.27 689,693
Germany 30,839,556 31,840,403 3.25 1,000,846
Italy 17,342,870 16,923,740 -2.42 -419,130
Japan 39,634,969 39,122,810 -1.29 -512,159
Spain 10,482,927 11,055,277 5.46 572,349
Sweden 4,852,251 4,810,817 -0.85 -41,434
Switzerland 3,510,823 3,602,570 2.61 91,747
UnitedKingdom
23,369,623 23,586,055 0.93 216,432
UnitedStates
142,174,091 142,704,415 0.37 530,325
Total 310,038,240 312,919,343 0.93 2,881,103
Source: Nielsen//NetRatings, 2005
But unlike what was thought 3 years ago
• With some exceptions (music) the Web doesn’t belong to pure players
• The Web doesn’t belong neither to conventional retailers
• The Web is truly Multi-Channel
How to get known
1. Your name
2. External advertising
3. Organic optimisation
4. Paid optimisation
5. Web advertising
How do consumers surf on the net while looking for a product or a service ?
Source: The e-tailing group (April 2004)
0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30%
Alternative Portals (eBay, Amazon etc)
Comparative portals
Traditional portals
Dont know
Affiliate Marketing
Search engine
Catalogue
Direct to the URL
How do consumers surf on the net while looking for a product or a service ?
Source: The e-tailing group (April 2004)
0% 5% 10% 15% 20% 25% 30%
Alternative Portals (eBay, Amazon etc)
Comparative portals
Traditional portals
Dont know
Affiliate Marketing
Search engine
Catalogue
Direct to the URL
25%
Basics of search engine optimisation
• Write good content• Use key Words (keyword, meta-tag)• Your domain name (URL)• Think about spelling • Write descriptive page titles • Use real headings • Use search engine friendly URLs • Get linked to • Use valid, semantic, lean, and accessible
markup • Don’t try to fool the search engines
Paid positions
• There is a nominal, one-time activation fee for Google AdWords. After that, you pay only for clicks on your keyword-targeted AdWords ads, or for impressions on your site-targeted AdWords ads. You can control your costs by telling us how much you're willing to pay per click or per impression and by setting a daily budget for spending.
For example, a new advertiser paying in USD can activate his/her AdWords account with just US$5.00, and can then choose a maximum cost-per-click (CPC) from US$0.01 - US$100.
More than just transactions the Web is also a matter of information • On a site
– Cookies– Password
• Through consortiums (Double click)– Cookies– Ad Servers
• Third parties – Microsoft Passport– N-case – 180Solutions - MetricsDirect
What is done with it ?
• Site Personalization
• Cross Marketing
• Affiliate marketing
• Adapted advertising– http://www.180solutions.com/pages/
advertisers.aspx
Strategies are getting more focused
2000 2004No of impressions 180 milliards 980 milliards
No of Web users 137 millions 193 millions
No sites/week. 41 268Ad market 8$ milliards 9.6$ milliardsCTR 2% 0,41%CPM 25$ 10.30$CPC 25$/20=1.20$ 10.30$/4=2.60$