Case a Franc A

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    India - A Potential 3G MarketA Feasibility Study

    Arnab Sinha

    Sudipta Ray

    Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    PROJECTED SUBSCRIBER POPULATION

    040

    80

    120

    160

    200

    240

    280

    320

    360

    400

    440

    Feb-05

    May

    -05

    Aug-05

    Nov

    -05

    Feb-06

    May

    -06

    Aug-06

    Nov

    -06

    Feb-07

    May

    -07

    Aug-07

    Nov

    -07

    Feb-08

    May

    -08

    subscriberpopulationinmil

    subscriber population (millions) Poly. (subscriber population (millions))

    394350 350

    394

    469

    0

    50

    100

    150

    200

    250

    300

    350

    400

    450

    500

    Dec-04Mar-05Jun-05Sep-05De

    c-05Mar-06Jun-06Sep-06De

    c-06Mar-07Jun-07Sep-07De

    c-07Mar-08Jun-08

    ARPU(Rs/month)

    Expected Usage in 2007:

    111 million

    (from CAGR of 94%)

    Market Trends

    Cheaper

    InfrastructureCost

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Existing Market Competition

    Stake in Existing Market :

    Technology relied upon :

    Total Investment :

    Analyzing the predicted Market Revenue Trends,expected Break Even Periodfor Vodafone

    BHARTI (10%)

    GSM (Larger service range inIndia)

    1.5 billion USD

    Our Target Break Even before

    February

    2008

    Vodafone Break Even

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Business Base

    Current Position ofReliance in market- 20.3 % ofthe subscriber population

    - Largest CDMAprovider in India

    - 54% of the population isbelow the age of 241

    - Estimated youths annual

    spending

    US$10.5 billion1

    Population Count in 2006(millions)

    10%

    20%

    11%

    10%16%

    13%

    9%

    4%7%

    0-4

    5to14

    15-19

    20-24

    25-34

    35-44

    45-54

    55-59

    Collaboration with Reliance!

    Targeting the Youth Section!

    Launching the service on Valentines Day!

    Customer Base

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Increased talk time Superior Power Control Lowest radiation level Hi-Speed Internet Access

    India has less than 0.4% penetration CDMA1x handsets (140kbps)

    Most successful 3G Tech CDMA2000 controls 85% of the Worlds 3G market Adds 15 million new users per quarter Worldwide

    Better Voice & Consistent Quality Advanced platform supporting innovative applications GSM 3G evolution relies on CDMA

    Technology Requirements

    Hence CDMA choice for the 3rdgeneration!

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Cost Structure

    Total Reliance

    Revenue =Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue

    Young Reliance

    CustomersReliance Subscriber

    Accessing InternetEstd. Avg Packet

    Consumption

    per month (APC)Charge (C)Packet wise

    Billing

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    Cost Structure

    50p for

    each 128

    Bytes packet

    Billing

    Structure

    Following

    Japans estimate5

    APC=8192(1MB)

    Reliance Customer

    Base 20.3% of

    38.5 Mn6= 7.82 Mn

    Target 54%1

    Young Customer

    = 4.22 million

    Total Reliance

    Revenue =

    Normal Revenue + 3G Revenue

    Young Reliance

    CustomersReliance Subscriber

    Accessing Internet

    Estd. Avg Packet

    Consumption

    per month (APC)Charge (C)Packet wise

    billing

    0 7 0 7

    0 6 0 6

    ( ) ( ) . 0 .3 6 ( ) . D e c D e c

    F e b F e b

    A R P U t p o p t d t C A P C p o p t d t v v v v

    Target Break even

    December 2007

    COMPUTATION STEPS

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    Estimated Breakup of Expenses

    Estimated cost for infrastructure, planning services, site civil works

    (based on other countries statistics)14

    106.4 billion INRLicensing fees, sales and marketing cost

    (26%15 of the acquired revenue)

    7.49 billion INR

    Total Expense (Approx)

    115 billion INR

    Feb, 2006 Dec, 2007

    Estd. Revenue Earned

    143 billion

    Large Profit Margin

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Service Promotion

    Attractive RateUtilities as

    per demand Handset Cost

    Communication

    Entertainment

    Information Services

    Agro-business

    Optional Commercial

    Services

    Communication

    Entertainment

    Information Services

    Agro-business

    Optional Commercial

    Services

    Average Handset

    Price

    19, 448 INR

    Average Handset

    Price

    19, 448 INR

    ARPU1475 INR only

    ARPU1475 INR only

    Advertisement

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    Service

    Promotion

    3G SERVICES & INDIAN MARKET

    Market

    Trends

    Existing Market

    Competition

    Business BaseEvaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    Largest CDMA

    Provider

    Defeat Vodafone

    Lucrative Offers

    after Dec07

    Appeasement

    of

    Government

    Adaptive to

    Market Forces

    Evaluation of Policies

    Reliance

    Target Break

    Even Dec07

    Survival of

    CompetitionEarly Start

    Beneficial

    Utilities

    Wider Estd.

    Profit margin

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    Thank You!

    Service

    Promotion

    Market

    Trends

    Existing

    Market

    Competition

    Business

    Base

    Evaluation

    of Policies

    Cost

    Structure

    Technology

    Requirements

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    References

    1. Statistical Outline of India 2002-032. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,Dec 7, 2005 Media Release3. http://www.stylusinc.com/internet_potential_india.htm

    4. http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/1515. http://ojr.org/japan/wireless/1084495929.php

    6. http://www.indiadaily.com/editorial/5826.asp,D

    ec 7, 2005 Media Release7. http://shopping.yahoo.com.au/

    8. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f39. http://blogs.zdnet.com/ITFacts/?p=9065

    10. http://www.w2forum.com/item/us_wireless_market_reach_neartotal_saturation_2009

    11. http://www.mouthshut.com/review/GSM_Mobile_Technology_Vs_

    CDMA_Mobile_Technology-34613-1.html13. http://www.businessworldindia.com/sep2004/news08.asp14. http://www.umtsworld.com/umts/faq.htm#f36

    15. www.auspi.org/presentation/AUSPI-press-conference.ppt

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    Backup Slides

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    World-Market Share

    Samsun

    11%

    Motorola

    15%

    Sony

    Ericsson

    5%

    NOKIA

    34 %

    others

    27%

    siemens

    8%

    178-570

    $990190-279

    215-420

    The Average International Market Price of 3G mobile Handsets =

    7 World market shareix Avg. handset cost x conversion factori

    = 19,448 INR

    Source: Gartner, 2003

    Back

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    Computation Steps under Packet-Wise Billing

    Current Internet User Count=38.5million2

    Reliance Subscriber Count=20.3%of38.5=7.82million

    Targeted Youth Population=54%of7.82=4.22million

    Customer Base for Reliance=11.65million(data provided)

    Ratio for Target Customer for 3G= 4.22/11.65 = 0.36

    Considering this ratio remaining constant, Revenue earnedwithin the breakeven period limits::

    Revenue earned by telephony

    Revenue earned by internet usage

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    Computation Steps cont..

    Revenue earned by telephony:ARPU(t)xsub.population(t)

    = Area under the RevenueCurve

    = 1485.76 billion INR

    Revenue earned by internet usage:=Charge per packet (C)

    x Avg.Packetconsumption (APC)

    x Ratio ofTarget Customers

    xSub.population(t)

    = 0.5x8192x0.36x{Area under theSubscriber Poplulation Curve}

    =5558.501 billion INR

    Total Revenue =7044.26billionINR

    Plot Depicting

    [ARPU(t) x population(t)]

    22572.2620574.68

    38951.5

    75572

    0

    10000

    20000

    30000

    40000

    50000

    60000

    70000

    80000

    90000

    100000

    110000

    120000

    130000

    140000

    150000

    Feb-05

    Apr-0

    5

    Jun-0

    5

    Aug-05

    Oct-0

    5

    Dec-0

    5

    Feb-06

    Apr-0

    6

    Jun-0

    6

    Aug-06

    Oct-0

    6

    Dec-0

    6

    Feb-07

    Apr-0

    7

    Jun-0

    7

    Aug-07

    Oct-0

    7

    Dec-0

    7

    reve

    nuecollectedinmillions

    Plot Depicting

    Subcriber Poplua tion(t)

    57.2952.22

    111.29

    215.92

    0

    40

    80

    120

    160

    200

    240

    280

    320

    360

    400

    440

    Feb-05

    May

    -05

    Aug-05

    Nov-05

    Feb-06

    May

    -06

    Aug-06

    Nov-06

    Feb-07

    May

    -07

    Aug-07

    Nov-07

    Feb-08

    May

    -08

    subscriberpopulation

    in

    m

    ill

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    Computation Steps cont.

    Total Revenue = 7044.26 billion

    Total Reliance Revenue =

    20.3% of7044.26 = 1429.99 billion

    If acquired a 10% stake,

    Returns to the company = 10% of

    1429.99 143 billion >> 115 billion

    (investment cost)

    07 07

    06 06

    ( ) ( ). 0.36 ( ).Dec Dec

    eb

    eb

    t pop t dt pop t dt v v v v

    Back

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    Vodafones Returns: Computation steps for the Breakeven

    833.5

    1617.24

    483.04

    440.3481.9

    0

    200

    400

    600

    800

    1000

    1200

    1400

    1600

    1800

    Dec-0

    4

    Mar-05

    Jun-05

    Sep-05

    Dec-05

    Mar-0

    6

    Jun-0

    6

    Sep-0

    6

    Dec-0

    6

    Mar-07

    Jun-07

    Vodafo

    ne'sreturns(millionsINR)

    Vodafone's returns 481.85717 440.29815 483.04636 833.5621 1617.2408

    12/1/04 3/1/05 6/1/05 6/1/06 6/1/07

    Based on the PlotReturns(t) =Area Underthe Plot= 10667.93 +89.71 t2 +833.56 t

    (billions)

    Returns till Breakeven period= 1.5 billion USD= 63000 million INR*

    Solvingfor t:t =19.95 months 20 months By February 2008.

    *Exchange rate =Rs 42/- Back

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    Aiming the technologyAiming the technologySource: CDG, AUSPI, TelecomWatch,COAI, TRAI

    Wireless Technology trends

    39

    64

    71

    79

    84

    5

    14

    25

    34

    44

    2001

    2002

    2003

    2004

    2005

    No. of networks.

    CDMA

    GSM

    Tariff fall and teledensity increase

    43.5

    21.5

    1

    0.5 12.8

    4.6

    6.5

    0

    1

    2

    3

    4

    5

    2001 2002 2003 2004 2005

    TariffR

    s/min

    0

    2

    4

    6

    8

    Teleden

    sit

    %

    Tariff(Rs/min) Teledensity(percentage)

    Wireless growth after introduction of CDMA4:Subscriber growth in GSM: CAGR of 74%*

    Subscriber growth in CDMA: CAGR of 205%*

    Increase in Teledensity: 6%*

    Decrease in tariff: 75%*

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    Indian MarketIndian Market FeasibilityFeasibilityIndian Market Feasibility

    239 236

    287

    93

    33 32

    12

    8

    0

    5

    10

    15

    20

    25

    30

    35

    Aus tr alia Singapor e China India

    ARPU(US$

    0

    50

    100

    150

    200

    250

    300

    350

    Minuteso

    fUsage

    (min/month)

    MOU per month ARPU($)

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    TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH?TARGETED CUSTOMER : THE YOUTH?

    Population Count in 2006(millions)10%

    20%

    11%

    10%16%

    13%

    9%

    4%7%

    0-4

    5to14

    15-19

    20-24

    25-34

    35-44

    45-54

    55-59

    54% of the population is below the age of 24

    Estimated youths annual spending US$10.5bn with growthrate of12%1

    55% of young India opts for career in web related activities3

    Demand for internet access (38.5 Mn currently) may shoot upto 100 Mn in 2 years.

    Trends in population

    190.8

    120.8122.4105

    108.5 117.490.2

    156.6170.6

    0

    50

    100

    150

    200

    250

    2001 2005 2010

    Po

    pulation(millions)

    15to19 20-24 25-34