Australias Government

of 13 /13
Australia’s Government Unit 10 Notes

Embed Size (px)

Transcript of Australias Government

Page 1: Australias Government

Australia’s Government

Unit 10 Notes

Page 2: Australias Government

Government Systems & Types

A Brief Review…

Page 3: Australias Government

Government Systems --Whose Got the Power?

Unitary--power is held by one central authorityConfederation--association of independent states that agree to certain limitations on their freedoms by joining togetherFederal--power is divided between central authority & several regional authorities

Which system does Australia have?

Page 4: Australias Government

Government Types --How Do Citizens Participate?Autocratic-- 1 person possesses unlimited power & citizens have limited role in governmentOligarchic-- small group exercises control & citizens have limited role in government Democratic--supreme power is vested in the people & exercised by them directly or indirectly though a system of representation involving free elections

Which type does Australia have?

Page 5: Australias Government

Two Types of Democratic Governments

Parliamentary-- a system of government having the real executive power vested in a cabinet composed of members of the legislature who elect the leader

Leader works with or through the legislature

Presidential--system of government in which the leader is constitutionally independent of the legislature

Leader works separate from legislature

*Which type of democracy does Australia have?

Page 6: Australias Government

Australia’s Government

Federation (federal system)

Parliamentary Democracy

Constitutional Monarchy

Page 7: Australias Government


1. Head of State: Monarch of the United Kingdom (presently, Queen Elizabeth II); little political power

2. Governor General: stands in for the monarch

3. Prime Minister: holds the most political power; works closely with the legislature

Page 8: Australias Government

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Page 9: Australias Government

Her Excellency The Right Honorable

Quentin Bryce(Governor General)

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Page 10: Australias Government

The Right Honorable Kevin Rudd

(Prime Minister)

Page 11: Australias Government

How the Leader is Chosen…

Governor General: appointed by the monarch on the advice of the Prime Minister; serves a 5 year term

Prime Minister: is the leader of the majority party in the House of Commons; indirectly elected by the people

Page 12: Australias Government

Legislature: Parliament1. Senate (76 seats): there are 12 members

from each state and 2 from each territory.• State senators are elected every 6 years and

territory senators every 3 years.

2. House of Representatives (152 seats): members are directly elected by the people

• largest political party in the House elects the Prime Minister

Page 13: Australias Government

Role of Citizen in Government

Citizens must be 18 to vote

If you do not vote you must pay a fine